Skip to content

Lunch Alone & Coconut Soup

April 11, 2011
tags: , ,

Artist s Way

Did something today that I have never done before…went to a sit-down restaurant and had lunch by myself. That may not sound like a big deal to most of you, but I never do this, have never done this! I run errands, skip lunch, carry an apple in the car with me, anything except go into a place by myself. I don’t know why not, maybe because I am usually preparing something at home, have leftovers, prefer my own cooking…I have a whole list of excuses.. uhh, reasons… I have never had the need or desire to eat out alone…until now.

This being the 12th (final) week of my work through The Artist’s Way, I thought I should try some monumental steps – believe it or not, lunch by myself is monumental.
I went to Peter’s Sushi, ordered a Green Dragon – which is OMG delicious! – watched the other diners come & go.

I wonder what monumental step I will take tomorrow…

Thai-style Coconut Soup

No avocado or roe, but this is delicious & quick.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups organic Chicken Broth
  • 13.5-ounce can unsweetened Coconut Milk
  • 1-inch piece fresh Ginger, peeled & cut into 1/8-inch slices
  • 1 Tablespoons Fish Sauce
  • 1 Jalapeño Pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon grated Lime Zest
  • 1 pound raw Shrimp, (21 – 30 count size), peeled & deveined
  • 4 ounces Mushrooms, cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 2 Scallions, white part thinly sliced, green part coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh Cilantro
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh Lime Juice

Directions:

  1. Combine broth, coconut milk, ginger, fish sauce, jalapeño, & lime zest in a large saucepan over medium-low heat.
  2. Bring to a low boil, partially cover & simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add shrimp & mushrooms; simmer until shrimp are cooked through, 3 to 5 minutes.
  4. Remove & discard ginger.
  5. Stir in scallions, cilantro & lime juice.
  6. Serve.
Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

