Skip to content

Chocolate, Cherries & Wine

January 16, 2011

When I am having my blood pressure taken to donate blood for the Red Cross, I sit back and think, “chocolate, cherries and wine.” I repeat this mantra breathing slowly until they are finished and tell me how wonderfully normal my readings are.  I shared this with my #1 son who promptly announced that this would be the title of my first blog post.  So, here we are.

The recipe I want to share today – the very first one – is for Basic Paté.  Paté is a nutrient-dense food that feeds the body and satisfies the soul.  Try this recipe and let me know what you think.  We will be enjoying our paté this afternoon with an organic Perlage Marche Sangiovese.

Basic Paté

Ingredients

  • 2 Tb unsalted butter
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1 lb chicken livers, duck livers or a combination of chicken, duck, venison and/or beef liver
  • ½ lb mushrooms, rinsed
  • 1 bunch green onions, chopped
  • ⅔ c dry red or white wine, sherry or brandy
  • 2 cloves garlic, mashed
  • ½ tsp dry mustard
  • ½ tsp dried dill
  • ½ tsp dried rosemary
  • Juice of ½ a lemon
  • 1 c beef or chicken stock

After cooking

  • ¼ c unsalted butter
  • Sea salt to taste

Instructions

Melt butter in large iron skillet; add oil. Add livers, onion and mushrooms; cook about 10 minutes. Add wine, garlic, mustard, dill, rosemary, lemon juice and beef stock and bring to boil. Cook, uncovered until all the liquid is gone. Allow to cool.

Empty skillet into food processor bowl; add butter. Process until smooth. Season to taste with salt. Scoop into crocks or ramekins lined with plastic wrap and chill. Serve immediately in the crock or remove cold paté in plastic wrap from ramekin and place in a ziplock freezer bag. When you are ready to serve, remove a single “mound” of paté from the freezer a few hours before serving.

Serve with bread triangles, toasted baguette slices or crudites.

The paté can be frozen for up to 3 months.

2 Comments
  1. January 16, 2011 10:05 pm

    T, I know anything you make will be awesome, so happy you are starting this blog to share your skill, your heart and your wisdom! I know you are committed to naturally grown meats and organic natural dairy Products, you might share the value of those items with your reader. God bless you my friend! Celeste

  2. January 17, 2011 11:19 am

    T. I enjoyed your blog and am always looking for a special recipe. Cooking has and is a big part of our family. I will look foward to your future posts.
    Mike

Comments are closed.

