Skip to content

Crazy Days & Mondays & Chess Pie

January 17, 2011

Mondays start with Lucy’s walk, exercise, quiet time in my Bible then breakfast for DH. Off to fetch milk at a local family farm with Lucy, my Cairn Terrier and constant companion. Laundry, started early, is finished by late afternoon. Keeping house is never finished and dinner must be planned early (or the night before) if it is to be ready when DH walks in the door after work.

Somewhere in there I must sit down and blog – this is new for me.  First of all to sit down on a Monday is novel.  I usually spend the day on my feet running from one chore to the next errand and then there is the cooking.  When Mother calls (or anyone else, for that matter) I keep the phone propped on my shoulder continuing my work, which leads to regular visits to my wonderful chiropractor.

Today’s recipe is for Chess Pie, an old Southern tradition. It’s not cherry pie or chocolate pie, it’s just pie, or rather jess’ pie in the Southern vernacular. So, Jess’ Pie became Chess Pie.

My Chess Pie is dedicated to a good friend, David Bell, who loves this pie and taste-tested about a million or so until I got it just right.  Thanks, Dave, for your sacrifice :0)

Chess Pie

Mix by hand – DO NOT use an electric mixer!

Ingredients

  • ½ c unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 ¼ c sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 ½ Tb vanilla
  • pinch salt
  • 2 ½ Tb cornmeal
  • unbaked deep dish pie shell

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Add sugar to melted butter.
  3. Stir in eggs, 3 at a time.
  4. Add vanilla and salt, stirring well.
  5. Stir in cornmeal.
  6. Pour into pie crust and bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes.
  7. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for 60 minutes; cover pie with aluminum foil to prevent over-browning.
  8. Turn oven off and allow pie to sit in the oven for a bit (15 minutes) to finish setting the pie.
One Comment
  1. Cyndy Wright permalink
    January 18, 2011 1:58 pm

    This looks great.

Comments are closed.

