Skip to content

Cookware & Biscotti

February 2, 2011

cookware.jpg
Three of Mamow’s Saladmaster Waterless Stainless cookware, & the big one in front is full of Slow-cooked Spicy Beef with Onions. Yum!

With all the cooking, baking & catering I do, I am often asked about the cookware I use. Do I have the fancy name, fancy price cookware that is recommended by this personality or that website? Actually, I use antique stainless cookware (not a full set) & 3 cast iron skillets, along with a few pieces of stainless All-Clad which I bought on sale at Williams-Sonoma.

My grandmother (the one who couldn’t cook worth a flip) bought a set of “waterless” stainless back in the 1960’s from a friend who was selling door to door. “Waterless” means that you can put fresh veggies in the saucepans adding no water, cover with the lid, put the pan over medium-low heat & the vegetables would cook to perfection with no loss of vitamins & minerals in too much water. When she passed away, I was given the cookware because unlike my relations, I cook! I hand-wash it every time I use it & have loved it.

I really don’t need a matched set of cookware. It’s not like I’m on television for the world to ooo & ahh over my cookware. I could use a larger sauté pan occasionally, but now that the boys are grown, it really is only occasionally.

Suggestion: If you have a chance to purchase seasoned iron skillets at garage sales or estate sales – grab them! They are worth their weight in gold. You can fry, sauté or blacken meats/veggies in them & you can make the best cornbread ever! I also make Toffee in the medium-sized iron skillet.

Happy Groundhog Day!

Cranberry Walnut Biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil or unsalted Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Port or any dark, sweet liqueur
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 cup all-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1 cup Dried Cranberries, chopped
  • 1 Egg White
  • 1 Tablespoon Water
  • Sugar

Instructions:

  1. Combine 3/4 cup sugar & 2 eggs in a large mixing bowl; Beat 2 – 3 minutes with an electric mixer at medium speed, scraping bowl often.
  2. Add oil, Port & vanilla; beat 1 – 2 minutes.
  3. Combine flour, walnuts, baking powder & salt; gradually add to egg mixture.
  4. Mix on low speed 1 – 2 minutes, or until well mixed.
  5. Stir in cranberries by hand.
  6. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface.
  7. Lightly sprinkle with additional flour; knead flour into dough.
  8. With floured hands, shape into 2 8×2 logs.
  9. Place each log 3 – 4 inches apart on a greased baking sheet; flatten tops slightly.
  10. Combine egg white with water; brush on logs.
  11. Sprinkle logs with sugar.
  12. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 – 30 minutes; Remove to cooling rack; Cool 15 minutes.
  13. Reduce oven temperature to 300 degrees.
  14. Cut logs diagonally into 1/2 inch slices; arrange cut-side down on baking sheet.
  15. Bake 8 – 10 minutes; turn slices over & bake 8 – 10 minutes more.
  16. Remove to wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy with your morning cup of coffee or tea.

One Comment
  1. February 11, 2011 3:41 am

    Wauw what a great recept! Thnx for posting!

Comments are closed.

