Skip to content

Exercise & Profiteroles

February 4, 2011

kettlebells.jpg

I have mentioned before that I like to exercise. We recently purchase a recumbent bike specifically to use the Sprint 8 program recommended by Phil Campbell in Ready, Set, Go! Synergy Fitness. Along with the bike I continue P90X, but not the sustained program I was using last summer. I have added something called kettlebells to the mix. Having read The Four-Hour Body, there appears to be a way to get maximum benefits with a minimum of effort. We’ll see.

The kettlebells are cast iron, 18 lbs & 26 lbs. I use the 18-pounder right now & I assure you, that is quite enough. I wonder if I’m going to end up looking like a Shot Putter from the former Soviet Union as I swing my kettlebell…

Shot Put USSR.jpg

DH & I have greatly differing opinions & attitudes regarding exercise. He sees it as a necessary evil; something he has to do to stay in reasonably good health, waiting until the evening to start his fitness routine. I look forward to the exercise which I start first thing in the morning, though I will say the Sprint 8 program, for the 20 minutes it takes, leaves me with wobbly legs & a racing heart.

Profiteroles

I was in junior high school the first time I made these simple beauties! Profiteroles are versatile pastries, great for small sandwiches or desserts. Fill the baked pastry with a savory chicken salad or whipped cream then drizzle with chocolate sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup Water
  • 2 Tablespoon unsalted Butter
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose Flour
  • dash Sea Salt
  • 2 Eggs, beaten

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Bring water & butter to boil.
  3. Add flour & salt.
  4. Remove pan from heat & beat to form smooth paste.
  5. Cool.
  6. Beat in eggs, a little at a time.
  7. Using a tablespoon, spoon onto greased baking sheet.
  8. Bake at 425 degrees 20 minutes.

When they come out of the oven they will collapse. Open them with a sharp knife to spoon in your filling.

Makes 1 dozen = 1 Tablespoon size

7 Comments
  1. February 20, 2011 7:42 pm

    I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and certainly loved your page. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You certainly have good article content. With thanks for revealing your blog site.

  2. March 25, 2011 1:13 pm

    A further issue is that video games are normally serious anyway with the major focus on finding out rather than amusement. Although, it comes with an entertainment aspect to keep your young ones engaged, just about every game is generally designed to work towards a specific skill set or course, such as mathematics or scientific discipline. Thanks for your write-up.

  3. April 7, 2011 2:18 pm

    It’s tough to be able to get well-informed everyone upon this excellent subject matter, though most people appear like individuals understand what you’re chatting pertaining to! Kudos

  4. April 9, 2011 5:01 pm

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

  5. April 13, 2011 3:43 am

    you should check out some mediafire links

  6. April 24, 2011 11:15 am

    Good website! I really love how it is nice on my eyes it is. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which may do the trick? Have a nice day!

  7. April 27, 2011 12:54 am

    I have recently started a web site, and the info you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanx for all of your time & work.

Comments are closed.

