Skip to content

Girls Weekend & Mint Kiss Cookies

February 10, 2011

Going away for a weekend with my girlfriends! Woo Hoo! We get away together at least once a year (2 or more times when we can) to invest time in our relationships; this particular weekend has been on the books since last October. We were all together June, 2010 at my son’s wedding; fun time, but I was a tad distracted & over-programmed, but I looked great! :0)

For this weekend I have planned the menu, bought the groceries & chosen wonderful wines. We have been concerned about the weather – of course we are, it’s February! Today I am prepping the meals so I won’t have to spend the entire weekend in the kitchen.

J suggested we bring boards games; C wants to see our favorite movies; R reminded us to bring our Bibles. I am also bringing my journal, sketch pad & charcoal pencils. P & L are struggling with last minute scheduling conflicts… I suggested that next time we plan our weekend somewhere we can work on our tans… excuse me, our vitamin D levels!

Friendships often take a back seat in our hurry-up lifestyles, as though we can do everything by ourselves, need help from no one, can be modern-day hermits – alone in a crowd. The aloneness is so sad & so unnecessary – but to combat aloneness requires commitment & hard work. We must put ourselves at risk to be a friend: risk rejection, risk hurt, risk loss. The benefits are so much greater than the risk – a heart that hurts when you hurt, rejoices when you rejoice, an arm wrapped around your shoulder in times of grief, loss, fear, joy & a partner who prays for you when you are unable to pray for yourself.

This is going to be a great weekend because my Sisters By Choice are taking time out of their busy lives to invest in our friendship. Hope your weekend will be wonderful, too.

kisses.jpg

Mint Kiss Cookies

I found the original recipe for these cookies on the back of a Mint Truffle Kiss package; I have adapted it a bit… I bought the Mint Kisses in December – the only time of year I have ever seen them on the shelf. I’ll take one batch this weekend with the girls. The 2nd batch I will send to my sons for Valentines Day.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted Butter
  • 2/3 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • ¼ cup Cocoa
  • 2 cup All-purpose Flour
  • 48 Mint Truffle Kisses, unwrapped
  • Powdered Sugar

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cream butter; Add sugar; Beat until fluffy.
  3. Add vanilla & cocoa; Mix well.
  4. Stir in flour until mixed.
  5. Mold 1/2 Tablespoon–ish of dough around Kiss.
  6. Bake 8 – 10 min. DO NOT OVERBAKE!
  7. Cool completely.
  8. Roll in powdered sugar.
  9. Re-roll in powdered sugar when ready to serve.
Comments are closed.

