Skip to content

V-Day & Chocolate Cherry Ice Cream Sandwiches

February 14, 2011

IMG_0327.jpg

I am not a sickly-sweet sentimentalist. I feel as though I am slipping into a sugar coma when I read most greeting cards. I love what I love. What is special to me is special to me. I don’t feel the need for Hallmark to tell me when I need to send a card, or Pro-Flowers to send flowers, or Whitman’s to buy a sampler.

IMG_0324.jpg

I do think I have handicapped my sons because I don’t make a really big deal over “greeting card holidays” & I despise cut flowers. (Doesn’t a plant that can be transplanted to a flowerbed, especially an herb or a dwarf citrus tree, make so much more sense than flowers that will be dead & thrown away in days?) The boys have had to learn that most girls/women do like flowers & greeting cards. They are learning to manage expectations in relationships – not a bad skill-set.
IMG_0325.jpg

Since I am a “from scratch” cook who specializes in desserts, I am very picky about the sweets I eat. Why waste the calories if the food isn’t delicious! There are few boxed, store-bought sweets that DH will bring home, but I always hope he has a meeting in Memphis just prior to Valentines Day. Dinsthul’s is a locally-owned candy shop in Memphis & have delicious…everything! I am especially partial to the Chocolate Coconut Cups – oh my…

The photos are of paper hearts. When the boys were young my Mother began making paper hearts woven with construction paper for them & their classmates. I still make them for my special friends.

Chocolate Cherry Cookies & Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup unsalted Butter
  • 1 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup Cocoa
  • 2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose Flour
  • 12 oz chopped Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 cup dried Cherries, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream butter; mix in sugars & eggs.
  3. Stir in dry ingredients.
  4. Fold in chocolate chips & cherries.
  5. Scoop 1/4 cup of dough onto parchment paper baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 – 15 minutes.
  7. Cool completely on a rack.

For Ice Cream Sandwiches

  • 1 quart good Ice Cream, allowed to soften for 15 minutes on the counter
  • Assorted Sprinkles
  • Plastic Wrap
  1. Smoosh a small scoop of softened ice cream onto one cookie & top with 2nd cookie.
  2. Roll edges in sprinkles poured onto small plate.
  3. Wrap in plastic wrap & freeze for 3 hours before serving.
2 Comments
  1. Leslie Bishop permalink
    February 14, 2011 2:00 pm

    love the Valentines. Now…tell us how to make them.

  2. February 14, 2011 2:14 pm

    I will…I just ran out of time before my Girls Weekend.

Comments are closed.

