Skip to content

Chaos & Muffins

March 14, 2011

Constant reminders about the general chaos of life. Because of the work being done on & in the house my routine is off. Example: I awaken at 4:15 AM every morning – I don’t know why, I just do. Normally I would dress in exercise clothes, get on the recumbent bike or turn on the P90X video & workout for 20 minutes to an hour & a half. That completed I would prepare breakfast for DH, feed the pets, get the laundry started, sit down with my Bible for quiet time & Morning Pages, maybe listen to Rick & Bubba online (since the local radio station stopped carrying their broadcast!), pack DH’s lunch then settle in reading emails, headlines, tweets & Facebook updates. Then the rest of the day would unfold, whether running errands, meeting choir friends to sing, meal prep, bill-paying, on & on.

IMG_0398.jpg

Now, the floor-installers arrive at 6:30 AM, so no exercise done, I have barely gotten DH & pets fed, & my Bible time has been delayed & interrupted by conversation, hammer, hammer, nail gun, pop, saw, saw, nail gun, pop… I NEED my time with the Lord in the mornings! I really do. I also really need my Morning Pages.

I was introduced to The Artist’s Way 8 weeks ago by #1 son. The first task given in this wonderful road to creativity is writing 3 pages every morning. Three pages. Every morning. I am addicted! And now I have barely been able to get 1 page written! I feel as though I am going to explode! I need to write! About what? I have no idea – I never do until it comes out of the pen onto the paper. But whatever it is – I need to write!
So, if I seem a little (or a lot) out of sorts – I AM!

IMG_0397.jpg

Bran Muffins

Maybe I just need a little more fiber…

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup Raw Bran
  • 1 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 cup Butter or Coconut Oil, melted

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Stir together flour, baking powder, salt & sugar.
  3. Mix cereal with milk into large bowl; Let stand 2 minutes.
  4. Add egg & butter; Beat well.
  5. Add flour mixture to cereal mixture, stirring only until combined.
  6. Portion batter into greased muffin tins.
  7. Bake at 400 degrees for 18 – 20 minutes.
Comments are closed.

