Skip to content

Time Efficiency & Oven BarBQ

March 16, 2011
tags:

I like to think that I am efficient in the kitchen, in my movements, my food prep & in meal prep, meaning that I can prepare multiple meals at one time, bake 2 cakes at one time, prep vegetables for multiple meals at one time. If I’m standing in there with my hair pulled up, wearing my apron, I want to get as much done as possible before moving to the next task of the day!

IMG_0393.jpg

With my 2 oldest sons back in the house for a period between moves to their next permanent places, food consumption has increased… not quite as bad as when they were in high school, but let’s just say that a lot of eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, meat & coffee are consumed here on a daily basis, not to mention beer, wine & Scotch. Come to think of it, it is more than when they were teenagers – they did not drink my beer, wine & Scotch back then!

Being efficient, I decided to prepare tomorrow’s lunch along with a dinner today. I have appointment in the afternoon, a meeting this evening & there are workmen in my house. I wanted to get the meal started before the chaos of the day ensued. We’ll see how this recipe works for dinner this evening & lunch tomorrow… that’s if the boys don’t eat the pork chops along with the pork roasts while I’m gone tonight. By the way, DH also does his part inhaling the food around this place!

IMG_0394.jpg

Oven Bar-B-Que Pork

A large amount of liquid cooks out of the meat, so remove the dish from the oven very carefully so you don’t make a mess by spilling it on the floor and all over yourself. Been there, done that!

I haven’t said this in the last few minutes – I love Rolling Hills Farm, my meat CSA! Find a supplier of grass-fed meats – your healthy body will thank you!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Pork Chops
  • Two 3+ pound Pork Shoulder Roasts
  • Rib Rub
  • T’s House Seasoning
  • Bar-B-Que Sauce

IMG_0396.jpg

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees.
  2. Place pork chops in the bottom of my baking dish.
  3. Sprinkle Rib Rub over meat.
  4. Place pork shoulder roasts over chops; sprinkle with Rib Rub & T’s House Seasoning.
  5. Spread light layer of Bar-B-Que sauce over meat.
  6. Cover dish with aluminum foil & place in oven to bake for 8 hours.
  7. Remove from oven; allow meat to “rest” for 10 minutes.
  8. On a large platter pull the meat & chop or shred.
  9. Serve with extra sauce.
Comments are closed.

