Skip to content

Happy Spring & Paper Hearts!

March 21, 2011

Happy 1st Day of Spring!

Last month I posted photos of paper hearts like my Mother made for my boys when they were young. My friend, Leslie, asked when I would show how I made them. Well, today is the day! With all the crafting there will be no time to cook, so no recipe today.

Get ready for a bunch of photos…

IMG_0436.jpg

Using 2 different colors of construction paper, measure 4 1/2 inches across & 12 inches long. Cut the 2 pieces of paper together, stacked on top of one another, so the pieces are exactly the same size. Round off the ends.

IMG_0438.jpg

Fold each piece of paper in half. Measure 5 inches on each piece twice, dividing the paper into thirds. Cut through the folded paper from the fold toward the rounded edge.

IMG_0440.jpg

Now for the weaving, I’ll describe with the colors so I don’t get you too confused – also, I usually turn the paper inside out to hide the pencil marks on the inside. Start with one of the yellow “thirds”: slide it into (between) a green “third”. Then take the green “third” & slide it into the yellow “third”. Now slide the yellow “third” into (between) the last green “third” slot.

IMG_0442.jpg

Repeat this with the remaining yellow “thirds” in & out of the green “thirds” slots, alternating the starting slot. Don’t get in a hurry or the paper will tear. It really makes more sense when you are doing this, feeding the paper between, in & out alternating colors.

IMG_0444.jpg

Now you have a little heart basket.

IMG_0445.jpg

See.

IMG_0448.jpg

Inside.

IMG_0447.jpg

You may want to gently pull the rounded tops away from each other on each side to stretch out the heart tops.

For the handle, cut a thin strip of either color construction paper 12 inches long. Using a small dot of glue, attached the handle to the inside of the basket. Allow to dry overnight. (I cheated here & used 2 small pieces of tape.)

IMG_0449.jpg

And there you have it!

I love yellow & green for the first day of Spring! Insert a package of flower seeds & present the little heart basket to your friends celebrating the welcomed Spring we’ve been longing to enjoy!

One Comment
  1. Leslie permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:11 am

    thanks so much for the directions. I will definitely be making some of these for my grandkids.

Comments are closed.

