Skip to content

Daffodils & Asparagus

March 25, 2011

IMG_0459.jpg

The March birth flower is the Daffodil. Appropriate considering the view around middle Tennessee is daffodils in their glory.

Last year at about this time I had an unfortunate incident with a bouquet of daffodils. I had a large spray in a water glass in my kitchen. They had been lovely, brightening the early days of Spring, but beginning to wilt. I removed them from the glass to the compost pile, but failed to pour out the glass of water, leaving it on the counter. The significance of this – I always have a glass by my 1-gallon glass jar of water so I can make sure I’m drinking my gallon a day, no need to wash a glass every time I fill it up.

I came in from somewhere, errands, singing, I don’t remember. I was quite thirsty, the kitchen lights were off & I grabbed the first glass I saw, turned it up & drained it. All of a sudden I realized that the water was bitter. I flipped on the lights & saw my water glass sitting next to my water jar. Oh no! I drank daffodil water!

Google was my friend that day as I searched poison control information about daffodils. I found out that most people ate the bulbs by mistake, thinking they were an onion. I had only drunk an entire 12 ounce glass of water they had been standing in. What could I expect? According to ehow.com:

Symptoms
If you’ve accidentally eaten a daffodil bulb, you’ve probably mistaken it for an onion, according to Botanical.com and The Poison Garden. Botanical.com notes that symptoms come on very soon after you’ve eaten the bulb. The most frequent symptoms of daffodil bulb poisoning are nausea, vomiting and diarrhea. Daffodil bulb poisoning may cause death.

Knowing that to be absent from the body was to be present with the Lord, I was going to hope for the best… So I cleaned the toilet in the bathroom, set clean towels & a wet washcloth on the floor next to the toilet & waited. At exactly 30 minutes from ingestion I knew my body had decided it was not going to allow the daffodil water to get any further into my system nor stay there any longer. It took about an hour. By this time DH had arrived home from work asking where to find his dinner & life went on as usual.

Suggestion – if you use a water glass to display your daffodils, dump the water out when you discard them lest you make my same mistake.

IMG_0460.jpg

Baked Asparagus

How about a Spring staple…

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds fresh Asparagus Spears
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh Parsley, finely chopped
  • 3 Garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 4 Tablespoons extra virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Freshly ground Black Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Break tough ends off asparagus; Place in a baking tray so the stalks don’t overlap.
  3. Mix remaining ingredients in a small bowl; Pour over asparagus.
  4. Bake uncovered until asparagus is just tender, 5-8 minutes.
  5. Serve hot.
Comments are closed.

