Skip to content

Music & Beef in Beer

March 28, 2011

IMG_0454.jpg DH’s cherry tree in its glory!

When I cook, especially if I’m writing a recipe or using a recipe with which I am not familiar, I concentrate more efficiently listening to classical music.
I have found that playing my iPod Exercise playlist is distracting because I’m so busy singing & dancing in the kitchen that I forget what I was cooking. On your average Friday afternoon at 5pm I am always found dancing in the kitchen throwing something, usually a steak, on the grill. The boys come in, shake their heads looking for an open bottle of wine – sometimes there is, sometimes there isn’t.

IMG_0458.jpg Can you see the flour on my Bose speaker?

However, on a Monday afternoon, I start cooking early – a stew-ish beef. The laundry is washed, folded & put away. The main rooms are vacuumed. The bathrooms are clean. When I get this in the oven I can sit down & read for a bit before DH comes through the door asking what we’re having for dinner.

IMG_0456.jpg

Beef in Beer with Yukons

This is a hearty meal, perfect for a cool Spring evening.


Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 4 slices (good!) Bacon, each cut into 4 pieces
  • 4 1/2-pound grass-fed beef Rump Roast
  • 1 tablespoon Sea Salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground Allspice
  • 4 medium Onions, peeled & sliced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, peeled, crushed & minced
  • 2 cans organic diced Tomatoes
  • 12-ounce bottle Dark Beer (I used Yuengling Black & Tan)
  • 1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon minced fresh Thyme
  • 1 Tablespoon minced fresh Rosemary
  • 6 Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled, cut into 1 ½-inch chunks, cover with water in bowl

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put the oil & bacon in a very large casserole that will also fit in your oven. (My 10.25 cast iron Dutch oven on the lower shelf in my oven.)
  3. Cook bacon until crisp; Remove bacon; Set aside.
  4. Cut roast into 6 or 8 pieces; Season beef with salt, pepper, & allspice.
  5. Sear in the bacon drippings/oil until nicely browned, 3 to 4 minutes per side; Remove from casserole; Set aside.
  6. Brown the onions in the casserole; Add garlic.
  7. Return the beef & bacon to the casserole.
  8. Add tomatoes, beer, sugar, thyme, & rosemary; Bring to a simmer.
  9. Cover the casserole; Place in oven.
  10. Cook 2 hours.
  11. Add the potatoes.
  12. Cook until tender, about 45 minutes more.
  13. Serve hot.

Comments are closed.

