Skip to content

Breath Control & Glass Cleaner

March 29, 2011

Of late I have been working on my breath control while singing. Not only because St. Paul the Patient has encouraged us to sing in “4 measure phrases,” but because I need the discipline of singing every day. So far, so good. I can sustain notes at pitch for almost as long as the late Vestal Goodman.

JD JM.jpg
This is a very old photo.

My oldest Sons, having returned home for a visit, are the reluctant audience for my rehearsals. From their perches upstairs behind closed doors they can hear my vocalizing downstairs…from behind closed doors!
The good Lord gave me a voice that carries – I can be heard distinctly across a crowded basketball gym during the middle of a game over the roar of the crowd, especially if there had been a lousy call against my son; I can be heard at the back of a sanctuary when giving instructions to teenagers parading flags in for a world missions conference. It is a gift & a curse.

handel.jpg

Right now, the guys are suffering through not only vocal exercises, but are hearing Messiah part 2 & 3, our Palm Sunday afternoon concert all day long, every day for the foreseeable future. Too bad – I need the practice.

Homemade Glass Cleaner

I cannot use Windex; something in it eats my fingers to shreds. Use this instead – it is easier on the pocketbook & the lungs.

Instructions:

  1. Write “Vinegar” on your spray bottle.
  2. Pour vinegar into the bottle.
  3. Spray at will on mirrors, eye glasses, car windows, house windows, bathroom & kitchen counters, shower walls, etc.

Use paper towels, newspaper or lint-free towels to wipe glass dry. Any towel will work on the counters.

An extra benefit, vinegar kills germs on contact without the use of antibiotics!

4 Comments
  1. Sarie permalink
    March 30, 2011 2:03 pm

    Is there no streaking at all? oxox

    • March 30, 2011 4:26 pm

      I have never had a problem with streaking using white vinegar or using peroxide, my other secret cleaning product!

  2. Sarie permalink
    March 30, 2011 5:19 pm

    wow! ok, that’s great!! I’ll have to remember peroxide, too. shhhhh! and, Tammi, I have lost the link for your deodorant. I’m pathetic!!!

Comments are closed.

