Skip to content

Dentist & Toothpaste

April 7, 2011
tags:

bentonite.jpg

Going to the dentist today. I knew that I had not been in a while, thinking I had missed my 6 month check – I had… about 12 months ago!
I have a great dentist & his assistant, Lisa, is an angel. Last year was so very busy with #3 Son’s wedding, I guess my cleaning just fell through the cracks.

Mint Toothpaste

Surprised that I have a homemade toothpaste recipe… didn’t think so.

Ingredients:

  • 6 teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 4 teaspoons Bentonite Clay Powder
  • 15 drops Peppermint Oil

Instructions:

  1. Mix first 3 ingredients thoroughly until you get the toothpaste consistency you desire.
  2. Add peppermint oil.

PS For Janine – Bentonite Clay can be found at Whole Foods or can be ordered online. :0)

2 Comments
  1. Sarie permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:07 pm

    I drink A LOT of iced tea! Does it help brighten teeth at all?

    • April 8, 2011 8:06 am

      Actually, NO! Especially if you are talking about black teas – the standard tea used in iced tea. Dark teas are as bad as coffee for staining teeth. One thing to remove those stains, along with brushing, is take a small swig of peroxide and hold it in your mouth until you can’t hold it any longer…bubbles and CO2, then spit it out. I do this a couple times a week and folks always comment on my white teeth. No need for those expensive whitening strips when you have a 98-cent bottle of peroxide handy!

Comments are closed.

