Skip to content

Beer-Can Chicken & Barbecue Dry Rub

May 11, 2011

IMG 0561

Smoking chicken in the beer-can style takes work, though it is a labor of love. Years ago I saw some guy (Steven Raichlen) on television talking about propping a whole chicken on a beer can over charcoal & was intrigued, bought his book & have never regretted my excursion into my world of pit master-dom.

IMG 0553

I happened to have 3 similar-in-size chickens from our dear friends at Rolling Hills Farm which means it’s time to smoke some chicken! My Weber grill holds max 3 chickens & there is no reason to go to all this trouble for only 1.

I usually prep the chickens the night before, washing them & sprinkling my dry rub under the skin & in the cavity, but it’s been a busy week, so this step was omitted.

IMG 0554

Start a large charcoal fire, wash the chicken, assemble utensils, beer, & put hickory chips in a bowl of water/beer to soak. My friend, P, gave me a beer-can stand months ago – this is its inaugural use.

IMG 0558

Open the cans of beer – pour 1/3 of beer from each can onto wood chips. Using a key-style can/bottle opener & make 2 more holes in the top of the cans.
I have tried a variety of beers, teas, fruit juices but prefer to use Natty Ice, a fairly inexpensive beer to keep the chicken moist & flavorful during the smoking process.

Spread the charcoal around the edge of the grill: indirect heat. Add 12 more pieces of fresh charcoal on top of the burning coals. Place a drip pan in the center of the grill; I use extra foil to catch the drippings. Drain the water from the hickory chips. Sprinkle half of the chips over the burning charcoal. Place the top grate on the grill.

IMG 0557

I oil the aluminum cans with Mongolian Fire Oil – difficult to find lately though I used to buy it at Kroger – slide the can into the cavity. Stand the chicken in the center of the grate so that the drippings will be caught by the foil & pan. Carefully place the grill cover over the chicken. Adjust the air vents so the coals burn, but not too hot.

IMG 0559

These chickens were 4-ish pounds each, so I smoked them for 2 hours. After the first hour I added twelve more charcoal briquets & the remaining hickory chips.

IMG 0563

Carefully removing the chicken from the grill into a very large stainless steel bowl – I use Orca insulated gloves, remove the beer can from the cavity, the skin from the birds & pull the meat from the bone. I sprinkle about 1/2 cup of my dry rub & the contents of one of the beer cans from the chicken cavity over the pulled meat for more flavor.

IMG 0564

The reason I pull the meat – it is easier to serve. That’s it. I also include some of the smoked chicken skin, finely chopped, with the meat.

Because I use good pastured poultry, the 12 pounds of bird made 7 pounds of pulled meat. When P apprenticed with me once, her store-bought “Smart Chickens” yielded less meat compared to mine…a lot less! Email Heidi at Rolling Hills Farm & start feeding your family excellent, local, pastured meats & eggs!

IMG 0569

Steven Raichlen’s All-Purpose Barbecue Rub

Sorry, but mine is a secret!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Coarse Salt
  • 1/4 cup Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Sweet Paprika
  • 2 Tablespoons Ground Black Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Put the salt, brown sugar, paprika & pepper in a small bowl & stir to mix. (Your fingers actually work better for mixing the rub than a spoon or whisk does.)
  2. Store the rub in an airtight jar away from heat & light; it will keep for at least 6 months.
2 Comments
  1. Pam permalink
    May 11, 2011 11:59 am

    That pulled chicken looks super yummy…and I know for a fact that it is!! Did the new-fangled roaster stand make it more stable?

Comments are closed.

