Skip to content

My Little Garden & Strawberry Coconut Smoothie

May 12, 2011

The only place on our property that has full sun is along the driveway, so that is where I have my little garden. Included in my garden are the dwarf fruit trees in pots, 3 varieties of mint in pots, a raspberry in a pot (careful, it bites!), 2 blueberry bushes in pots, rosemary, lemon thyme, lavender, strawberries, a single basil plant & DH’s tomatoes.

IMG 0575

The strawberries have begun producing edible berries; the volume will increase over the next few weeks since they are June-bearers. Right now I get enough to throw into a smoothie every morning. By mid-June there will be enough to share with the other members of the household.

IMG 0576

I have not taken care of the strawberry bed this Spring – didn’t separate the plants, didn’t mulch, didn’t fertilize – just left it on its own & yet it is still producing.

Other than knowing that they are June-bearers I do not know what variety of strawberry these are. A number of years ago my neighbor bought 3 small potted strawberries with the intention of planting them. Well, she never did plant them…nor water them & one day showed up at my door with these sad, dry strawberry plants asking if I wanted to see if I could bring them back to life. I have since then given away hundreds of new plants from runners produced after berry season & currently owe some to a sweet friend at church.

IMG 0577

Strawberry Coconut Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Fresh Strawberries
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tablespoon Honey
  • 1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 1/3 cup Raw Almonds, soaked overnight in water then rinsed
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 cup Filtered Water
  • 1/2 cup Ice Cubes

Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender & blend until smooth.
One Comment
  1. Sarie permalink
    May 12, 2011 9:00 pm

    Just wanted to tell you that I went ahead and just gave you your own folder in my favorites! 😀

Comments are closed.

