Skip to content

Vibram FiveFingers & Cheddar Matchsticks

May 16, 2011

My friend P calls asking me to go for a walk with her. I answer, “Just let me put on my feet!”
Vibrams

I love my Vibram FiveFinger Shoes! #2 Son introduced me to this unique exercise shoe which spreads your toes to a more natural position (rather than being stuffed & squished in a standard shoe) allowing for better circulation, more stability & general wellness.

Have you wondered why with the seemingly fabulous footwear for athletes, there are more knee injuries, more joint replacements, more illness than ever before? Maybe it’s the shoes!

1 s Vibrams

After struggling for months with increasing knee pain during & after P90X Workouts, I decided I needed a change. I started working out barefooted. No knee pain after just a couple of days! I couldn’t believe it! At #2 Son’s suggestion I added the Vibrams in December & again, great workouts, no pain. #1 Son even joined us with the Men’s Classic.

They look weird, my friends laugh at me & they are definitely conversation starters in the check-out line of the grocery store. I love them!

Cheddar Matchsticks

Since I probably have a million or so Cheese Straw recipes, this seemed a good time to break one out!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Coconut Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped Sunflower Seeds
  • 3 – 4 Tablespoons Ice Water
  • 6 ounces Sharp White Cheddar Cheese, shredded
  • Paprika for dipping

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Sift flour, salt, pepper into large mixing bowl.
  3. Cut in coconut oil until crumbly.
  4. Stir in seeds with water.
  5. Gather together into ball.
  6. Roll out onto lightly floured surface into rectangle.
  7. Sprinkle half of surface with 1/2 cup of cheese.
  8. Fold in half; Pinch edges to seal.
  9. Roll out again & repeat until all the cheese is used.
  10. Roll out again to 1/4-inch thick rectangle.
  11. Cut into strips 1/2-inch wide, 6 inches long.
  12. Bake on ungreased cookie sheet at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.
  13. Dip 1 end of cheese straw in paprika.
  14. Place on cooling rack to cool completely.
  15. Store in airtight container.
Comments are closed.

