Skip to content

Planter’s Chest Pastel & Trail Mix Bars

May 18, 2011

Sitting on the sofa, minding my own business & it hit me – hang the big pastel over the Planter’s Chest! I have had this pastel since 1983 & it has been hiding in a closet since we moved here almost 11 years ago. It is so large it must have a large wall. I was going to put it in the exercise room behind the inversion table, but it would not be seen there, it would really be out of place, such a lovely picture with all the brick, the afore mentioned inversion table & a recumbent bike. No, that’s not going to work. But above the antique desk, it looks like it was made just for that space.

Pastel over Planter s Chest

Decorating has never been easy for me because I second guess myself & fear making a mistake, some huge faux pas that would unforgivable. Stupid, huh? Well, no more! I hung the pastel by myself, not an easy feat & then hung the portrait of my great-grandfather in the sitting room. BEWARE! Now I am searching closets, attics, & the basement for more framed art to place on the empty walls.

Trail Mix Bars

Uncle George expects these for Christmas every year! Aunt Ginny sends a lovely thank-you note.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups quick-cooking Rolled Oats
  • 1/3 cup coarsely chopped Walnuts or Pecans
  • 2/3 cup packed Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup Semisweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 cup Self-rising Flour
  • 1/3 cup Raisins
  • 1/4 cup Sunflower Seeds
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tablespoons Milk
  • 1/4 cup unsalted Butter
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Insructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Butter a 9-inch baking pan.
  3. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  4. Add remaining ingredients; Stir until combined.
  5. Spread into prepared pan.
  6. Bake 25 minutes.
  7. Cool in pan on a wire rack.
  8. Cut into bars.

Makes 16 bars.

Comments are closed.

