Skip to content

Mark Harmon, Redefining Beauty & Interesting Water

May 24, 2011

Simple question – why do men become distinguished looking & women get old? Down through history this simple fact occurs over & over again. Case in point, I give you Mark Harmon. I had a crush on the UCLA quarterback way back in the early 1970’s, which in my Alabama-Roll Tide family was seen as heresy to the Nth degree & almost got me banished to the hinterlands, at least on Saturdays during football season. I cheered the Blue & Gold & number 7 in 1972 – 1973 & still have a fondness for those Bruins.

Mark harmon 2

Thomas Mark Harmon is better looking today than he was in those college quarterback years. He got a haircut, matured physically & married Pam Dawber (of Mork & Mindy), has worked in television, movies (Summer School is my favorite), commercials, raised his sister’s kids when she & husband Ricky Nelson were too caught up in their drug use to do it… on & on. This guy is the real deal & gorgeous to boot!

Enter me…& every other woman in the world. Can we make a change by not getting old, but instead gracefully aging? Ugh, wait a minute – that’s sounds awful. How about “to bring to full development”, “to complete or perfect”. Now we’re talkin’!

What should we be doing to bring ourselves to full development, to complete ourselves? Don’t get me wrong – I have no desire to be 19 again. Are you kidding! To go through all that nonsense & survive just to go through it again! I don’t think so! I like who I am. I like the woman I have become through the blood, sweat & tears of life experience. What I want is to change the perception of who women are when they are no longer a size 2 (like I was ever a size 2!), when gravity has taken its toll on body parts & when the carpools we have driven, the interstates we have traveled seem to be etching their way onto our faces. I guess I am wanting to redefine what beauty is.

I am fortunate to have great genetics as far as my skin is concerned; my mother has beautiful skin as did my grandmother. I drink water, water, water – at least a gallon a day. Mother made me keep my face covered with the old Merle Norman Powder Base make-up (zinc oxide is the main ingredient) for as long as I remember, especially during my lifeguarding summers. But beauty has nothing to do with the condition of one’s skin. It is not the image in a mirror.

Beauty is the sum total of every opportunity taken or squandered, every road traveled, every joy, tear, pain, laugh, every thought, every prayer… When we as women stop allowing the world to tell us who is beautiful, what is beautiful… When we stop listening to the advertisements tell us that we need this anti-wrinkle cream or that “lose the fat now” diet… When we stand before the world with confidence, with inner peace, with love, the world will have to admit that we are beautiful because of who we are & what we have learned & because we think we are beautiful. That’s it! It comes down to what we women think of ourselves.

IMG 0604

The tree outside my window – it is not symmetrical, doesn’t have perfectly formed branches, leaves on every stem, smooth bark, hidden roots, but it is unique & beautiful. Beautiful in its imperfection.

Remember today that you are beautiful because God made you exactly the way He wanted you to be. He opened opportunities, experiences & allowed you to take them… or not. And He loves you more than you can possibly imagine… just the way you are.

Interesting Water

For people who don’t like water.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cucumber with peel, quartered (preferably organic)
  • 1/2 lemon with rind, sliced (ditto)
  • 8 cups of water (preferably filtered)

Instructions:

  1. Add cucumber & lemon to a large pitcher.
  2. Pour in water.
  3. Chill for an hour.
  4. Enjoy over ice.
  5. For a change, try a few frozen cranberries & a sprig of mint – spearmint or peppermint, in place of the cucumber & lemon.

“In youth we learn, in age we understand.” Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

2 Comments
  1. Sarie permalink
    May 24, 2011 2:03 pm

    Thank you for this insight and I will read it often as a reminder to STOP looking in the mirror so much!! And George accuses me(in a loving way lol) of watching NCIS to see Mark Harmon and I insist it’s the intrique that keeps me coming back for more!! I’m right there with you, Sister, I, too, have known about Mark Harmon since the 70’s.

    • May 24, 2011 5:42 pm

      I watch it to see Mark and I’m not ashamed to admit it! :0)

Comments are closed.

