Skip to content

Black Hole Blogging & Dinner In A Hurry

May 26, 2011

Black Hole

Writing for me is like descending into a black hole. I don’t drink water, I don’t eat (you’d think I’d be thinner), I lose track of time. I start writing about a topic which sends me off to a new topic, then I start doing research online & the next thing I know, it’s time to prepare dinner & I’m running late!

Artist s Way

Starting this process back in January was a treat. #1 Son insisted that writing “publicly” was something I should do, placed The Artist’s Way in my hands & said, “Read this.” Since then – Katie, bar the door! I have written daily Posts & a few other things:0) I have ranted & raved & sung. I have photographed, sketched, cooked, baked… I have had a blast.

Black Hole Jets

No, I’m not quitting. I just wanted everyone to know how much fun I am having. That’s all.

Dinner In A Hurry OR Potatoes & Beef Skillet

It helps to keep certain ingredients stocked in the pantry.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Grass-fed Ground Beef (or a bit more)
  • 1 chopped organic Onion
  • 2 minced Garlic Clove
  • 1 cup Milk or Coconut Milk
  • Sea Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 4 organic Baking Potatoes, peeled & sliced
  • 1 cup grated Extra-Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Instructions:

  1. Brown ground beef, chopped onion & garlic.
  2. Add milk, salt & pepper to taste.
  3. Bring potatoes to gentle boil in saucepan until tender.
  4. Carefully transfer potatoes to buttered 1 1/2 qt casserole dish; spread meat mixture over potatoes.
  5. Top with grated cheddar cheese.
  6. Bake at 350 for 15 minute, until cheese is bubbly, but not browned.

There is a reason baking potatoes are used in casserole recipes rather than other varieties – they are dryer, do not leak moisture out making a casserole too moist & hold their shape. Aren’t you glad I asked?

Comments are closed.

