Skip to content

Sketching & Balsamic Zucchini

July 11, 2011

Sketching as in drawing – not “sketchy” as in ugh

I started drawing a few months ago after a lapse of many, many years. The first time I had a charcoal pencil in hand & an open, empty sketch page in front of me – wow, talk about intimidating – I wrote on the pad, “Anything, anything, just put the pencil on the paper!” Finally I did.

IMG 0740

Now the trouble is developing the habit of having my sketch pad with me & taking the time to draw. It’s much faster to grab the little camera & “click.” But we’ll see how I progress… I did draw a bit while at the beach last month.

Balsamic Zucchini

It’s squash season!

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds medium Zucchini, cut diagonally into ¾ inch thick slices
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 ounces grated Parmesan Cheese (1/2 cup)
  • 1/3 cup Pine Nuts

Instructions:

  1. Preheat broiler.
  2. Toss zucchini with oil, salt & pepper in large bowl.
  3. Arrange zucchini in 1 layer in shallow baking pan.
  4. Broil zucchini 3 – 5 inches from heat, without turning, until browned in spots & begins to soften, 4 – 6 minutes.
  5. Drizzle vinegar over broiled zucchini & shake pan a few times, then continue to broil until most of vinegar is evaporated, about 2 minutes.
  6. Sprinkle with cheese; Broil until cheese is melted, about 1 minute.
  7. Cool to room temperature and serve sprinkled with pine nuts.

Can be made 3 hours ahead of time, kept at room temp or chilled, covered.
Sprinkle with nuts just before serving.

Comments are closed.

