Skip to content

Watches of the Night & Mother’s Baked Flan

August 4, 2011

Psalm 63:6 “When I remember You upon my bed & meditate on You in the watches of the night.”

Psalm63 1

Waking up in the middle of the night – I have done this on & off for years. I turn over in bed & the brain switches to “Think” mode – everything starts rolling full speed inside my mind. That’s it! Won’t be going back to sleep tonight, so up I rise quietly & make my way to an isolated part of the house so as not to disturb sleeping DH. Lucy often joins me which means a quick trip outside, or maybe not so quick, we sometimes stay outside for an extended period, if I can see the stars, if the owls are calling. We don’t go for a walk unless it’s at least 4 AM & I’ve taken the time to dress.

Thumbnail

A glass of ice water, my Bible, my computer, a cup of hot tea, my journal & pens, my notepad, a lap blanket, my dog – never know what I will read, what I will work on, but the quiet, the darkness are conducive to creativity, to thought.

Mother’s Baked Flan

My Mother loves egg custard in all its permutations. This flan has the rich addition of caramelized sugar on the bottom.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Sugar

Instructions:

  1. Heat in heavy saucepan till light golden brown & carefully spoon into 6 buttered custard cups.

Ingredients:

  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/3 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 2 1/2 cups Warm Whole Milk
  • Nutmeg

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Beat eggs; Add sugar, vanilla & salt.
  3. Mix in milk, stirring very well.
  4. Pour into custard cups over browned sugar.
  5. Sprinkle top with nutmeg before baking.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes.
Comments are closed.

