Skip to content

My Dad & The Heidelburg Catechism

August 8, 2011
tags: ,

My Dad died Saturday. It was not unexpected. It is not a bad thing. He has been suffering excruciating pain with an inoperable, deteriorated spine along with an inoperable heart & blurred vision in his only eye (lost one as a child) due to a cataract which could not be removed because of his other health issues – not a surgical candidate.

Grandaddy
(Photo taken in autumn of 2002.)

He is now free – free from pain, free from the frustration of a failing body, free to enjoy eternity.

Heidelberg Catechism

Completed in 1562, the Heidelberg Catechism was published in January of the following year.

Q. 1. What is your only comfort, in life and in death?

A. That I belong–body and soul, in life and in death–not to myself but to my faithful Savior, Jesus Christ, who at the cost of His own blood has fully paid for all my sins and has completely freed me from the dominion of the devil; that He protects me so well that without the will of my Father in heaven not a hair can fall from my head; indeed, that everything must fit His purpose for my salvation. Therefore, by His Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for Him.

1 Cor. 6:19-20
2 Rom. 14:7-9
3 1 Cor. 3:23; Titus 2:14
4 1 Pet. 1:18-19; 1 John 1:7-9; 2:2
5 John 8:34-36; Heb. 2:14-15; 1 John 3:1-11
6 John 6:39-40; 10:27-30; 2 Thess. 3:3; 1 Pet. 1:5
7 Matt. 10:29-31; Luke 21:16-18
8 Rom. 8:28
9 Rom. 8:15-16; 2 Cor. 1:21-22; 5:5; Eph. 1:13-14
10 Rom. 8:1-17 

3 Comments
  1. Leslie Bishop permalink
    August 8, 2011 8:46 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your Dad. Losing a loved one is never easy, no matter the situation. I am thankful that we can rest in the knowledge of where they are and that they are no longer in pain. They have joined our loved ones that have gone on before. They now know and enjoy things we cannot fully understand while on this earth. Though we grieve here on earth we know we will be together again one day. We have solice knowing “all is well with our souls”.

  2. Scotti Smith permalink
    August 8, 2011 9:52 am

    Tammi,
    I am so sad for during this grieving period. Please know that I am praying
    for you as you walk through the loss of your dad. Praise God that he is free and healthy now for all eternity!
    With Sympathy,
    Scotti

  3. August 8, 2011 6:22 pm

    This is a tough one. I’m sorry.

Comments are closed.

