Skip to content

Equestria & Braised Cabbage

August 15, 2011

Good food is such an amazing gift from the Lord. Mother & I had been eating leftovers for too many meals when I invited her out to dinner.

I made reservations at a local restaurant that I had wanted to try for years & I was not disappointed.
Seared Snapper over Jasmine Tarragon Rice with a Beurre Blanc Sauce. Braised Red Cabbage over the top with a twisted lemon slice! OMG! It was exactly what I had been wanting. I ate every bite & exercised immense self-control to not lick the plate! The glass of 2008 Franciscan Sauvignon Blanc was a perfect accompaniment.

Equestria

Then I ordered the Molten Dark Chocolate Cake for dessert – I thought I deserved a treat. Mother stated that she wasn’t going to eat any, “but leave my fork just in case.” When it arrived topped with a large scoop of very good vanilla ice cream she couldn’t resist.

Booth

You know, we could have been given manna – translated by the Hebrews as “what is it?” We could have been created without taste buds. But the Lord God made us to enjoy flavors & textures & aromas. He filled the Earth with foods of every sort, fruits, vegetables, meats, milks, grains, fats, on & on.

142

On this night in Memphis I am very grateful for His wisdom & His gracious gifts.

Braised Cabbage

This is my Mother’s recipe & the cabbage is delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head Cabbage
  • 1 large Yellow Onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 Carrots, peeled & cut into rounds
  • 1/4 cup Chicken Broth
  • 1/4 cup Olive Oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • Red Pepper Flakes to taste

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Butter a 9 x 13 glass baking dish.
  3. Cut cabbage into 8 wedges; Do not remove core.
  4. Arrange on dish flat side down in a single layer.
  5. Scatter onions & carrots over cabbage.
  6. Drizzle chicken broth & oil over all.
  7. Season with salt & pepper.
  8. Cover tightly with foil & bake for 1 hour.
  9. Uncover & turn cabbage wedges over.
  10. Re-cover with foil & bake 30 minutes more.
  11. Remove foil.
  12. Increase oven temperature to 400 degrees.
  13. Roast vegetables until lightly browned, about 15 minutes.
  14. Serve hot.
Comments are closed.

