Skip to content

My Basil Plant & My Pesto

August 22, 2011

My one & only Basil plant is planted next to DH’s tomato plants & is evidently very happy, so it’s time to make Pesto!

IMG 0935

I pick the leaves in the morning before the heat of the day saps the moisture & flavor from the leaves.
Wash them in cool water in case pests have enjoyed shelter on the broad leaves.

IMG 0958

Dry them with a towel or paper towel & set aside.

IMG 0954

Drag out the food processor, very possibly my favorite appliance of all time!

IMG 0955

Assemble remaining ingredients & begin!

IMG 0957

T’s Pesto

I have played with this recipe for years & think I have it just right!
Always use organic, fresh ingredients to feed our body well.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh Basil Leaves, packed
  • 1/2 cup fresh Parsley
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh Baby Spinach
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 3/4 cup Olive Oil
  • 3/4 cup Pine Nuts, Walnuts or Pecans
  • 4 Garlic Cloves, quartered
  • 3/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper

Instructions:
Combine all ingredients in food processor.

Keeps in refrigerator for 1 week. Freezes for months.

I freeze the pesto in an ice cube tray, then pop the individual cubes into a freezer bag, removing one at a time to stir into hot buttered pasta, homemade vinaigrette or to spread on toasted baguette slices for an appetizer. It could also be used on sandwiches instead of mustard or mayo.

2 Comments
  1. Sarie permalink
    August 22, 2011 7:33 pm

    I’ve been meaning to ask you, Tammi, what is your recommendation for a food processor?

    • August 22, 2011 7:37 pm

      My food processor is a Kitchen Aid. The base weighs a ton, but it is virtually silent, has an insert for smaller batches and I have never had a single problem with it. Love it, love it, love it!

Comments are closed.

