Skip to content

Elimination Diet & Lamb Meatballs

September 6, 2011

My ONT advised me to eliminate some potential allergens from my diet to see if that would help my voice box issues. Problem – I’m a cook who cooks all the time. I’m a caterer who cooks all the time. I’m a foodie who loves food & cooks all the time! See the problem?

Thumbnail 3

No corn – Thinking I have an issue here I have minimized my corn exposure for over 5 years now. No problem.
No dairy – My local dairy farmer sold the cows in June & I haven’t replaced the milk supply because I had been noticing some issues. No problem, by & large.
No eggs – Oopsy! I eat local, pastured eggs all the time! I love the protein burst in the small package.
No soy – No problem, I’ll make a few adjustments for the time being & see if it can be worked back in on a rotation basis.
No peanuts – I can do without a peanut butter sandwich or just a big spoonful of this delicious protein & fat rich substance for a while.
No nuts – NO nuts? At all? No walnuts, almonds, pecans, Brazil nuts? None? Oh, come on! You’ve got to be kidding me!
No wheat – I can do this just to see…
No artificial flavors, colors, additives – Already there, my friend.
Minimize citrus or completely eliminate for a while. I better be able to add these back by the time my Meyer Lemons get ripe!

Last weekend was spent not eating my usual fare, reading labels again, standing in the doorway of my pantry trying to find something I could eat! Standing with the refrigerator door open trying to find something I could eat!

Cheese02
(from Nobel Springs Dairy website)

Lots of Fresh Veggies. Rice. Apples. Pears. Quinoa. Lamb. Herb Teas. Chicken. Legumes.

Lamb Meatballs with Goat Cheese

Necessity, the mother of invention, was at work in my kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil or Coconut Oil
  • 1 Yellow Onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 1/4 pounds Ground Lamb
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh Parsley
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh Spearmint, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground Coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground Turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground Cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • Generous dash Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh Basil Leaves, chiffonade (#1 Son does this beautifully)
  • 4 ounces Goat Cheese (I use a local brand, Nobel Springs Dairy)
  • Instructions:

    1. Sauté onion with garlic in oil until onion is translucent; Set aside to cool.
    2. In a vary large bowl, combine meat with remaining ingredients except basil & goat cheese.
    3. Heat more oil in an iron skillet or Dutch oven.
    4. Thoroughly mix onion & garlic into meat mixture.
    5. Form meat mixture into small, 1-inch balls & place in hot skillet.
    6. Turn gently one by one until cooked through.
    7. Remove cooked meatballs to a heated plate a batch at a time until all the meatballs are cooked.
    8. Return all meatballs to skillet, reduce heat.
    9. Sprinkle basil over top.
    10. Distribute goat cheese around meatballs & cover with lid, which allows the cheese to soften.
    11. Gently stir goat cheese until a creamy sauce forms in the juices as it is spooned over & around the meatballs.
    Comments are closed.

