Skip to content

On Top Of The World

October 20, 2011
tags: ,

IMG 1199
..so to speak

IMG 1203

DH & I rode the Pike’s Peak Cog Railway to the top of Pike’s Peak where we were greeted with 22 degrees, 12 degree wind chill with gusts up to 25 mph. Yep, DH got chilled.

IMG 1192

The views were amazing.
To the south: Colorado Springs
IMG 1200

To the west: New Mexico border visible as a pyramid shaped mountain where the pass leads southwest.IMG 1209

To the east: cold wind was blowing & could barely keep from being blown backwards.
IMG 1189

To the north: the rest of the 14’ners & the Rockies:
North  the road

I didn’t wear my hiking footwear, but I didn’t wear my Vibrams either & only made like a mountain goat a little ways down in my loafers & winter-weight silk socks…
IMG 1205

DH photographing me photographing him
IMG 1208

We enjoyed the famous fresh, hot donuts in the summit café. Hey, they’re famous & with DH’s restaurant choice the night before, my low-carb eating went out the window for 24 hours. No photo of the donuts – we inhaled them in the cold, thin air. How about José Muldoon’s dinner special instead…
José Muldoon Special

2 Comments
  1. Pamalama permalink
    October 20, 2011 6:38 am

    Oh, that’s a dinner special?? Looks like a multi-colored libation special with side snacks!

  2. October 20, 2011 6:58 am

    Dinner included a margarita sampler: blue agave was not bad, black & gold was too sweet to drink, pomegranate was OK but too sweet, and Midori melon was just right.

Comments are closed.

