Skip to content

Rocky Mountain National Park

October 21, 2011
tags: ,

Babbling Brook
Sitting on a bench by a babbling brook wondering where the Magpies have disappeared to, I hoped for a bit of inspiration for today’s Post. Had to move to a rock creekside to get the setting sun out of my face.

IMG 1249

Did you know that the Rocky Mountains are the longest mountain range in the world? They stretch over 3,000 miles extending from Canada in the north to New Mexico.

IMG 1245

DH & I spent the day driving into the Rocky Mountain National Park. We wanted to see the Rockies up close & personal & we accomplished that in a small way today.

IMG 1251

As we entered the park a herd of elk was resting in the center of a beaver-caused meadow. They are at the end of mating season, called rut.

IMG 1242

A few miles up 2 bull elk, probably fairly young without their own harem, were nibbling around the base of evergreens. I wanted to introduce myself. The park rule is if you are close enough to make the elk move, you are too close. Well, I walked up slowly & quietly. They continued to eat without taking a second look at me. I made a clicking sound with my mouth as I do with Lucy to get her attention & this guy posed for me.

IMG 1248

Part of the road through the park had been closed for days because of snow & ice up top. It opened 10 minutes before we drove in.

IMG 1250

Beautiful vista views were to be expected & I did climb out on one rock outcrop for a better shot or two of the valley below. The meadow you see is where the elk herd was. We saw little chipmunks running amok. I managed to make a couple stand up & beg so other visitors could get photos. Poor little idiots, I don’t have anything to feed you & it’s against the law to feed you!

IMG 1252

We continued up over the mostly ice-free road into the alpine ecosystem. This is permafrost-covered tundra above the treelike with the wind whipping the car door, my hair, my coat. Temperatures dropped from 62 degrees at Estes Park to 33 degrees at the highest elevation, 12,180 feet.

IMG 1254

There were some solitary elk just below the tundra areas, a frozen lake high in the mountains & clear blue skies. We could see all the way to Cheyenne, Wyoming on the north side before making a 360 to head back to where we are staying for the night.

IMG 1255

2 Comments
  1. October 21, 2011 4:18 am

    this was a joy to read

  2. Littleskew permalink
    October 21, 2011 5:16 am

    You have some lovely images here. Looks gorgeous up there.

    Thanks for sharing

Comments are closed.

