Skip to content

Rude Walkers & Beet Kvass

November 9, 2011

Having been brought up in a polite society where people take turns & say, “Please,” “Thank you,” & “Excuse me,” I am always shocked at the rudeness of certain people when I meet them on a trail at the local park.

IMG 1466

My friend & I walk side by side talking until we see folks coming from the other direction. We then slow a bit & move sort of single file to the edge of the trail expecting the two coming toward us to do the same thing. AND THEY DON’T! They keep walking as though we do not exist, as though they cannot even see us almost knocking us off the path! HOW RUDE!

IMG 1470

Part of the issue is managing my expectation that all people were taught to be considerate & polite – they weren’t!

IMG 1467

Now, how do I combat this? What I think I have decided to do is to continue to walk side by side & ignore their existence. At the very least the others will have to step aside somewhat or they will bump smack dab into me. Then we can both be polite & say, “Excuse me.” This will take a bit of practice since I am not a confrontational person & would rather step aside, but this is probably a good exercise for me.

IMG 1462

We’ll see…

Beet Kvass

A recent visit from #3 Son & his beautiful wife reminded me about the struggle of strict diet restrictions due to allergens.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large Beet
  • 1 – 2 Tablespoons Sea Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Whey* (the clear liquid on top of your sour cream or plain yogurt)
  • Filtered Water
  • Half-gallon Jar with a screw-on lid

Instructions:

  1. Coarsely chop, do not grate or shred, beet & place in a half-gallon jar. (a large-mouth jar makes this easier)
  2. Add 1 Tablespoon of salt & whey, unless you are allergic to dairy. If you are dairy-free omit the whey & use 2 Tablespoons of salt.
  3. Fill the jar with water, screw lid in place & set aside on the kitchen counter for 3 days. (It’s a good idea to let the jar sit on a large plate in case it leaks a bit during the fermentation.)
  4. After 3 days store the jar in the refrigerator.
  5. Use 1/2 cup of beet kvass a day to cleanse the liver & add excellent probiotics to your system. (In a smoothie is my favorite way so I don’t have to taste it :0)

The jar may be refilled with water once, allowed to ferment again on the counter fro 3 days.
When you use up all the beet kvass this time, save 1/2 cup to “inoculate” your next jarful & get the fermentation process going a bit faster.

Comments are closed.

