Skip to content

Housework vs. Yard Work & Butternut Bean Soup

February 9, 2012

Voice doc, “You have a severe allergy to dust & it’s moderately positive for cats.” With the current… who am I trying to fool – the ongoing condition of my house, I’m doomed!

Mox on sofa

So, the cat moves back to the garage. Vacuuming, un-dusting the furniture/walls/ceilings, vacuuming again! Bleck! I hate housework in all its forms! I really do!

I wonder if I open the back door & the front door, start the leaf blower in the back of the house & work my way to the front… At least I could tell myself its yard work…

BUTTERNUT BEAN SOUP

I haven’t shared a Kingsolver recipe in quite a while…
A Year of Food Life
Barbara Kingsolver with Steven L. Hopp and Camille Kingsolver

  • 1 1⁄2 cups dried white beans, soaked overnight and drained 3 medium portabella mushroom caps, sliced (optional)
  • 6 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 tbs. thyme
  • 1 tbs. sage
  • 4 tsp. rosemary
  • Combine beans and spices in a large sauce pan, add water to cover amply, simmer for 30 to 40 minutes, until beans are tender and most water has cooked off.
  • Add mushrooms toward the end.
  • 2 butternut or hubbard squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
  • olive oil
  • While beans are cooking, drizzle a large roasting pan with olive oil and arrange squash skin-side-down.
  • Cook at 400 for about 40 minutes, until fully tender when pierced with a fork.
  • Remove from oven and serve each half squash filled with a generous scoop of bean soup.
  • Animal vegetable miracle

    Comments are closed.

