Skip to content

Winter Citrus & Jello Lemon Meringue Pie

February 21, 2012

IMG 1717

Winter time is citrus fruit time! My oldest Meyer Lemon Tree has lemons ripening. The 2nd oldest has one more hanging. The other trees are resting right now.

IMG 1716

That’s okay, ’cause in about 2 weeks they will all be repotted. New soil. New pot. Organic fertilizer applied on schedule for the entire season.

IMG 1714

Also, I will hand wash each leaf, stem & branch with organic insecticidal soap, then apply diatomaceous earth to the damp surfaces. I’m hoping this will stop the spider mites or whatever 6-legged pests were plaguing my dwarf citrus grove last warm season.

IMG 1713
(I’m holding the lemon so you can see just how BIG the Meyer’s are.)

Jello Lemon Meringue Pie

My Mom’s birthday was last weekend & instead of a cake she prefers a lemon meringue pie for her celebration. In the past I have made her homemade, handmade pies in homemade, handmade crusts. She prefers the Jello variety… Sigh…

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 2 3/4 cups Water
  • 1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 Pie Shell
  • Favorite meringue recipe
  • 1 small package Lemon Jello
  • 1 Tablespoon Real Lemon
  • Few drops yellow food color, optional

Instructions:

  1. Combine cornstarch and sugar in a saucepan.
  2. Add water and lemon juice and bring to a boil until very thick.
  3. Remove from heat and add lemon Jello, real lemon, and food coloring if desired.
  4. Fill favorite pie shell with lemon filling.
  5. Cool and top with favorite meringue.
One Comment
  1. February 21, 2012 6:41 am

    Thanks for sharing! I’ve just ordered my first lime tree and am super-excited. 😉

Comments are closed.

