Skip to content

Old Habits Die Hard & Frittata Aleta

February 22, 2012

Akrasia – ever heard of it? I had never seen this word before reading an article on Mark’s Daily Apple blog.

World English Dictionary
akrasia (əˈkreɪzɪə)

— n
philosophy weakness of will; acting in a way contrary to one’s sincerely held moral values

[C20: from a- ² + Greek kratos power]

This is the explanation for my recent carbohydrate/sugar binge.

It seems that bingeing is not entirely due to emotional issues, though I had been mainlining stress the last number of days…uh, weeks… There are possible nutrition deficiencies involved.

Good to know. But I must say that after over a year on very limited carbs & virtually no sugar, my willful overindulgence last week set me on my ear. Determined to eat the white flour & sugar laden baked goods, I had no idea how my body would react. I didn’t care – I just knew I wanted it.

Blondies

The conversation inside my head:

“You don’t want to eat that.”
“Oh yes I do!”
“You know you’ll be sorry?”
“I don’t care!”
“You’re going to feel lousy.”
“I don’t care! I want it!”

I ate. I suffered. And continued to suffer for days! Who knew that not only would my digestive system not appreciate this carb assault, but that serious depression would invade my psyche, making me weepy & not wanting to exercise, not wanting to get out of bed? The first day after, I started juicing, eating raw veggies like crazy & hydrating with good, filtered water. Second day I headed to my chiropractor, confessed the horrible food intake, got adjusted & loaded up on the supplements I had allowed to run out because when eating the wise, healthy way, I had not needed them!

Juicing

Moral of the story – you can’t go back! Though all the world is eating the sweets, the white flour, the processed foods, those of us who have chosen a different way, a better way, must stay on that path because the pain of reintroducing the old stuff just ain’t worth it!

Frittata

FRITTATA ALETA

Submitted by Aleta and Mom
from The Primal Blueprint Reader-Created Cookbook

Eight-year-old Aleta is already thinking like a chef. Not only did she create a frittata packed with nutrients and flavor but she also chose vegetables with a stunning array of colors. Waves of dark green kale, purple cabbage and red pepper will brighten your morning when you sit down to Aleta’s frittata. Almost any combination of vegetables and meat can be sautéed into a frittata, although we’re especially fond of this combination. Although she deserves it, we can’t give Aleta all the credit for her submission to the Primal Cookbook Challenge. Mom acted as her able sous chef and helped Aleta buy her ingredients at a local farmers’ market.

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat broiler.
  2. Warm olive oil in an ovenproof pan and sauté onions until they begin to soften.
  3. Add cabbage and sauté about three minutes then add kale and peppers.
  4. Continue to sauté until kale wilts.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Pour in eggs, stir quickly then let cook until it just barely begins to set.
  7. Put the frittata under a broiler until the top is golden and the eggs are cooked through, 3–5 minutes.



Comments are closed.

