Skip to content

CSA Veggies & Braised Swiss Chard

March 15, 2012

Edwin  John

Our winter vegetable Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) is Bountiful Blessings Farm. They deliver fresh vegetables & berries every two weeks from November through early May, starting with raspberries, concluding with strawberries.

IMG 1791

I choose to not request any particular veggies allowing them to pack my half-share. Because of this I have been introduced to vegetables I have heard of for years but had never tried. My favorite – Swiss Chard.

IMG 1792

The carrots they grow are like candy – so sweet! The greens are excellent, especially for juicing. Love the kale! Not being an arugula fan, I feed it to Lucy chopped with her raw ground beef for breakfast.

IMG 1793

Because we have had a mild winter the bitter greens and the lettuces have been abundant. In the past there were so many winter squashes that…well, I tired of them. However, it gave me the opportunity to be generous to friends & neighbors. :0)

IMG 1800

Find a local CSA farmer & take advantage of this homegrown treasure. This is sign-up time for summer CSAs. Our summertime farmer, Beaverdam Creek Farm also offers delicious grass-fed meats!

IMG 1801

Braised Swiss Chard

Bountiful Blessings Farm grows Bright Lights variety of Swiss Chard. They are beautiful as well as tasty!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 small Onion, chopped
  • 1 clove Garlic, minced
  • 1 pound fresh Swiss Chard
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 1/4 cup Water

Instructions:

  1. Sauté onion in oil until translucent over medium heat.
  2. Reduce heat to low & add garlic, cooking until fragrant.
  3. Chiffonade the chard. (The link shows you how.)
  4. Add chard, salt & pepper stirring occasionally, 3 minutes.
  5. Add water then simmer, covered, 5 to 6 minutes.
2 Comments
  1. March 15, 2012 10:34 pm

    I use braised swiss chard with pasta, in soup, with meat for hubby or on it’s own as a side. One thing that mixes it up a bit that my family has loved is when I throw a few raisins in.

    • March 16, 2012 8:30 am

      Raisins! Wow! Never thought of that! I’ll give it a try!

Comments are closed.

