Skip to content

I Love Dogs! & Oatmeal Doggy Cookies

April 10, 2012

Yeah, yeah, I know – you’ve heard it before. I LOVE DOGS!

I have heard about this guy since he was a new pup & took my first opportunity to meet him. Hoss, the Great Pyrenees of Beaverdam Creek Farm.

IMG 1901

We drove up to the farm which is rather isolated, exited the car. No one around. So P & I started walking toward the greenhouse. Off in the distance we saw the matriarch…I wonder how Trish is going to like being called the matriarch… We called out. She waved. That’s when we heard it – a deep bark with a bit of a snarl & a blur of giant white headed our way.

We stopped & I held out the back of my hand so Hoss could get a good smell. By then Trish, Jacob & Tricia Ann were there encouraging Hoss that we were friends. Hey, I even had doggy treats in my pocket – not homemade ’cause of my bilateral tendonitis, but at least they are edible.

IMG 1899

Yep – we were friends all right!

IMG 1903

Then who was that dancing around? Gimli the Cairn Terrier! Gimli is black – brown, well groomed (unlike Lucy who is stuck with me as her hairdresser) & does tricks. What a cutie-pie! Gimli authors his own column in the Beaverdam Creek Farm newsletter. Sign up for it today to keep up with all the farm news!

IMG 1916

Hoss is the chief protector of the cattle & sheep. Gimli is the alarm dog in the event a thunderstorm blows in & no one notices or a stink bug drops to the ground or a snake is crawling in the wood pile.

These are well-mannered, well-trained canine friends. I’m glad I finally got to meet them.

Oatmeal Doggy Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups Oatmeal, uncooked
  • 1 1/2 cups Rye Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Dried Parsley
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder

Instructions:

  1. Pe-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all the ingredients & spoon onto a greased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes.
  4. Cool completely on rack & store in refrigerator for up to two months.
4 Comments
  1. April 10, 2012 7:55 am

    Hoss is awesome.

    • April 10, 2012 10:21 am

      Hoss absolutely is awesome. He was also shedding his winter coat! Every time we touched him giant, fluffy fur balls would fly. It almost looked like snow. :0)

  2. Pamalama permalink
    April 10, 2012 8:51 am

    I think P did a fine job of capturing the joy! He he he!

  3. April 10, 2012 10:22 am

    Yes, P, you did! It was nice having my own photojournalist accompany me!

Comments are closed.

