Skip to content

Beaverdam Creek Farm Lambs

April 11, 2012

Springtime is lambing season at Beaverdam Creek Farm!
IMG 1904
This little girl was born about an hour before I arrived with my friend, P.

I haven’t petted a lamb in…forever! I was so excited when Trish allowed us to come see their new lambs.
Safe behind a movable, solar-powered electric fence, the sheep graze all day. At night, Hoss the Great Pyrenees is on patrol to keep the coyotes at bay.

IMG 1908
This is Big Ears, the larger of the twins.

There remains one ewe who has yet to deliver & poor thing, she looks so uncomfortable. I bet she’s having twins, too!

IMG 1912
The twins are both males, so they will not remain for breeding.

These little critters are calm, gentle & don’t mind being snuggled. When the little black lamb cried “baa” P & I laughed – it was just so cute. Her mama didn’t think it was funny! She wanted her lamb back! So we handed her back over to Tricia Ann who reunited her with the ewe. Baby started nursing immediately, her tail twitching in delight.

3 Comments
  1. April 11, 2012 8:42 am

    Tammi,

    I’m enjoying reading all about your visit to our farm and seeing the photos! Thanks for all you do to support and encourage us!

    ~Trish Lingo, Beaverdam Creek Farm

  2. Sarie permalink
    April 11, 2012 11:31 pm

    Oh, Tammi, you lucky duck!!! I wish I’d been able to hold those little cuties!!!

    • April 12, 2012 10:58 am

      Sarie,
      Stop by anytime and you can hold one, too! But you better come quickly. They’re growing so fast that they’ll soon be too big to hold!

Comments are closed.

