Skip to content

Cinderella at the Nashville Symphony Tonight!

April 12, 2012

Cinderella at the Symphony

Cinderella

If this were a Friday evening performance I would have a date with DH. Tonight I have a date with #1 son who is visiting while DH & #2 son have a networking event.

Arpeggio

Dinner at Arpeggios, then the magic of Rogers & Hammerstein’s Cinderella, with Stephen Curtis Chapman hosting.

I hope #1 son doesn’t get too embarrassed when I sing along – I have known these songs since I was a child watching Leslie Ann Warren sing & dance. I had forgotten all the stars in the 1965 production: Ginger Rogers as queen, Walter Pidgeon as king, Celeste Holm was the fairy godmother, Pat Carroll as the heavyset step-sister. Stuart Damon was the prince – oh how I had a crush on the prince…

Cinderella 1965

Excuse me while I start singing “In My Own Little Corner, In My Own Little Chair,” or maybe “Ten Minutes Ago I Saw You,” or “Impossible,” or “Why Would A Fellow Want A Girl Like Her”… Yep, I could go on & on & I have a feeling I can recite the lines of any & every character who will be on stage.
Fun time tonight!

2 Comments
  1. Pamalama permalink
    April 12, 2012 8:36 am

    I too was enchanted by this movie and these songs as a little girl…so beautiful.
    However my grown up self now has recently begun to identify with the mean, heavy set sister ( and not because of those two adjectives!) because of her popping, clicking knees!
    I found this amusing as a child, now, not so much!

  2. Sarie permalink
    April 12, 2012 10:39 am

    Oooooooohhhhh! Have fun!!

Comments are closed.

