Skip to content

Maurice Sendak RIP

May 9, 2012

…they roared their terrible roars & gnashed their terrible teeth & rolled their terrible eyes & showed their terrible claws…

Wild Things

Where The Wild Things Are won the Caldecott Medal for Children’s Literature the year I started first grade. I remember the school librarian, Mrs. Massey, reading it to our class.

I sought the Sendak books when my sons were young to spur their creativity & love of books. It worked!

Night Kitchen

I guess his best-known books are Wild Things & In The Night Kitchen. My favorite, however, has always been Outside Over There. I also have a book of his artwork…chubby-cheeked kids, odd creatures, Mozart writing the Magic Flute…

Outside

Rest In Peace, Maurice Sendak.

“When Papa was away at sea & Mama in the arbor, Ida played her wonder horn to rock the baby still, but never watched.”

Thanks, Amazon.com, for the use of the books cover photos.

Comments are closed.

