Skip to content

Glass Drinking Straw & Cold & Creamy Smoothie

May 15, 2012

Slowly but surely I am eradicating plastic from my kitchen & my life. Too many chemicals, too many stories about possible dangers.

A couple of Christmases ago, DH gave me glass drinking straws – I had done the research & sent him this link & Woo Hoo! I received exactly what I wanted…actually more. I only expected a single straw. He gave me 6!

IMG 0425

There are 2 small bent straws:

IMG 0426

2 tall thin straws & 2 larger bore “smoothie” straws.

IMG 0428

At the time, this site did not offer carrying cases, so I purchased a pen holder to store my straws in the kitchen cabinet.

The straws are made of tempered glass like Pyrex so they are durable & come with a “pipe cleaner” to keep them spic & span.

A little something to ponder…BPA (plastic) effects on mama monkeys.

Cold & Creamy Smoothie

Packed with excellent fat, fiber & taste, this smoothie will become a family favorite.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Water, Kefir, Raw Milk or Coconut Milk
  • 1/4 Organic Lemon, including peel
  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/2 large Cucumber, roughly chopped
  • 4 sprigs Parsley
  • Small handful fresh Spinach Leaves
  • 1 generous spoonful Almond Butter
  • 1 generous spoonful Coconut Oil
  • 1 cup frozen Blueberries, your choice
  • 1 teaspoon Acerola Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Spirulina (yep, the blue-green algae that helps prevent allergic rhinitis)
  • Ice cubes
  • Sweetener if desired, such as chopped dates, maple syrup or stevia (the sooner you drop this the sooner your taste buds discern “sweet” in fruit)

Instructions:

  1. Pour first 4 ingredients into blender.
  2. Blend until smooth.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients until preferred consistency is reached.
2 Comments
  1. Peg permalink
    May 15, 2012 7:31 am

    I’ve been using Ball or Mason jars for fridge storage for quite a while now…. it works better for my narrow side-by-side and you can see what is inside! For larger amounts than a quart you can get reasonably priced glass storage jars at Wal Mart.

    • May 15, 2012 1:45 pm

      Canning jars, non-canning jars – I keep them for storage & for using when I take edibles to friends. Love glass jars!

Comments are closed.

