Skip to content

Compromised! & Baked Scampi

June 20, 2012

Since March 31st, we have been struggling with identity theft & credit card fraud. We now know where the theft occurred – a locally owned, neighborhood grocery where we buy local pastured eggs & hamburger buns that don’t contain high fructose corn syrup. According to our bank, it was not the credit card processor, but an employee from the store. The bank said that banks all over the area are going nuts with this because so many folks shopped there.

Fraud

I have told my local bank branch manager that I am “going Dave Ramsey!” meaning that I will no longer use credit cards, but instead will carry cash. Interesting to me since I have started this is that so many stores will no longer accept checks, only cash, credit cards or debit cards.

I will not be able to make a significant purchase without first acquiring the cash to pay for it, which is a hassle factor. It will make me stop & think more than once about whether the purchase is worth the hassle.

Life lock

I hope the people who bought the credit card/debit card numbers get caught – Hello, WalMart in San Antonio – since you have a camera on every single cash register, why don’t you take a look at the person who bought $750-worth of gift cards in $50 increments? Hello, art store in China – weren’t you curious when two $1000 purchases of supplies back to back were made? The others – Thou shall not steal! Using purchased credit card numbers is stealing!

Yes, our LifeLock account has been upgraded to include credit & debit cards.

Baked Scampi

With all the frustration, it’s time for comfort food & it’s shrimp season! This is finger-lickin’ good, especially with all the butter!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 1 1/4 cup fresh Italian Parsley
  • 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 cup dry White Wine
  • 1 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 2 pounds Shrimp, 20 – 30/lb; shelled or not
  • 1 stick lightly Salted Butter
  • 3 Tablespoons Coconut Oil or Olive Oil
  • Instructions:

  • Heat oven to 300 degrees.
  • Mix all herbs & seasonings in a bowl.
  • Melt butter in jellyroll pan.
  • Add oil.
  • Spread shrimp across pan so that it is one layer.
  • Sprinkle herb mixture over shrimp.
  • Bake 10 minutes.
  • Turn shrimp over & bake 5 – 10 minutes more.
  • Serve shrimp (in shell) and butter “sauce” with crusty bread
  • OR
  • Serve shelled shrimp over hot linguine (or any pasta)
  • Advertisements
    One Comment
    1. June 20, 2012 12:21 pm

      My ex stole my identity, my credit is shot, it took years to fix it. I did not know until 5 years later that it was happening. In my early 20’s I never thought to worry about those kinds of things. Sorry to hear that it happened to you. I hope it was fixed in a quick manner.
      On the subject of shrimp.. Love, shrimp

    Comments are closed.

