Skip to content

Life-long Learning & Vegetable Rice Curry

July 3, 2012

Learn

I love to learn new things. Doesn’t really matter what. I love to learn about food, cooking, nutrition & gardening, of course – they come naturally to me. But I also like to learn about science, medicine, astronomy, business, religion. I read lots of news & websites & blogs every day. I’m not much into light fiction for pleasure – I get pleasure out of learning!

Learning

Because of all this information swirling around in my head, I like to share some of the things I learn. Most friends know that when I get really excited about something, I will email them. They read it or delete it – it’s up to them. One friend laughed when explaining to her boyfriend why she uses coconut oil to cook – “It’s because T told me to.”
Very funny. No, that’s not why! I send the information & hope that friends will read & learn & make choices proper for their lives, their families.

Vegetable Rice Curry

A delicious vegetable curry, colorful & just a touch spicy.

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds small Red Potatoes, coarsely chopped
  • 2 large Sweet Potatoes, peeled & coarsely chopped
  • 2 large Carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 1 Yellow Onion, chopped
  • 3 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon grated Fresh Ginger
  • 2 teaspoons T’s Seasoned Salt
  • 2 teaspoons Curry Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Red Curry Paste (optional)
  • 1 quart Vegetable Broth
  • 1 (13.5-oz) can Unsweetened Coconut Milk
  • 2 cups mixed Brown & Long-grain Rice
  • 1 cup Frozen Peas
  • 1/2 cup Dry-roasted Cashews (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Add the first ten ingredients (nine if you don’t add the curry paste) to your large crock pot; Stir the ingredients to mix them up.
  2. Pour the broth & coconut milk over the vegetable mixture.
  3. Cover & cook on Low for 6 hours.
  4. Increase temperature to High & cook 2 hours.
  5. Stir in the rice when mixture is boiling; Cook 45 minutes.
  6. Stir well.
  7. Stir in frozen peas; Cover & cook five more minutes.
  8. Ladle mixture onto individual plates & sprinkle with cashews.

Thanks, southern section of the Search Committee, for being taste-testers & yes, I forgot to add the peas.

Comments are closed.

