Skip to content

Moxie to the Vet

July 12, 2012

IMG 2132

Taking Moxie to the vet is always an adventure. She hates being in the car. It is impossible to keep her in the soft-sided pet carrier (she unzips it from the inside) & the big hard-side carrier is too much trouble, so she walks around the inside of my car meowing plaintively.

IMG 2141

At the Little House Animal Hospital I park, then try to coax her to come to me before I risk opening a door. At this point she is shedding fur like crazy. Needless to say, I do not wear my best clothes when visiting the vet because I know I will need a shower & fresh set when I return home.

IMG 2133

Little House used to be in a small house but the founder, Dr. Kunkel had the opportunity to purchase this wonderful property just down the road from the original location.

IMG 2134

This house gives them much more space for treatment rooms, examination rooms, surgery & boarding. The staff is wonderful! They love animals of every type & are very patient with us pet owners.

IMG 2135

For Moxie’s annual exam the “cat” room is employed. Cat Fancier magazines, cat wall art, windows with ledges she can jump to, stand on & look outside.

IMG 2136

Moxie is a healthy, purring, 7 year old cat.

IMG 2137

She has lost some weight since last year but that may be because of the extreme heat we have been experiencing. She hasn’t been hunting as much as usual.

IMG 2138

The change I made in her diet has been heartily approved by Dr. Pfeffer: 1 scoop (about 2 Tablespoons of Iams Digestive Care Dry Food in the morning & 1/2 can of 9 Lives canned cat food at suppertime.

IMG 2139

Cats, because of their high protein diet, tend toward kidney disease. Using canned cat food which is wet, a more similar consistency to a natural, wild-caught diet keeps the cat healthier.

IMG 2140

Heart & lungs sound good. Tummy soft. Purr, purr, purr. Annual injections. Ouchie!

IMG 2142

All finished, new rabies certificate in hand. Back in the car heading home. Finally a photo showing off her beautiful blue eyes rather than the dilated pupils!

One Comment
  1. July 13, 2012 4:29 am

    She’s beautiful.. I love cats, I have one too!

Comments are closed.

