Skip to content

Moving Away & Almond Mushroom Paté

July 26, 2012

Tonight we, (C, P, J & I) are having our last Girls Night Out together here in Tennessee.

Our dear friend, Cathy, is moving away. She is relocating to Texas this Saturday & though I’m thrilled for her, I’m sad for me. She has been my prayer partner with P for twelve years.

C

I am so glad that telephones & computers & Skype & Southwest Airlines exist. I’m glad that we will get together for a Girl’s Weekend. She has a new job & a new life waiting for her!

Almond Mushroom Pate

I made this for Cathy & she loved it! Bringing it tonight to our party!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 small Onion, quartered, chopped
  • 1 small clove Garlic
  • 2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil or Butter
  • 1/2 pound fresh Mushrooms, halved, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • White Pepper to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon Thyme
  • 10 ounces blanched, toasted Almonds
  • 1 Tablespoon Sherry +
  • 1 Tablespoon Coconut Cream + (or Heavy Cream)

Instructions:

  1. Melt butter, add onion, garlic, mushrooms, salt, thyme, pepper to taste.
  2. Cook, stirring occasionally until most of the liquid has evaporated; Set aside.
  3. Reserve 2/3 cup + 2 Tablespoons almonds.
  4. In food processor blend remaining almonds to paste.
  5. Add mushroom mixture with sherry & cream; Process until smooth.
  6. Chop reserved 2/3 cup almonds.
  7. Fold into mushroom mixture.
  8. Cover & chill.
  9. Mound on plate & garnish with remaining 2 Tb. almonds.

Oh my gosh! I had forgotten how good this is!

Comments are closed.

