Skip to content

Fitness Friday: Laurel Falls

September 28, 2012

IMG 0738

The trail to Laurel Falls is considered one of the easiest climbs in the Great Smokey Mountain National Park, therefore lots of cars are parked at the trailhead & lots of people who would otherwise use handicap stickers to park close to the local WalMart attempt this walk.

IMG 0743

From the trailhead it is a 1.2 mile trek up to the Falls rising only 200 feet. That’s an easy climb.

IMG 0739

With straight drops on the west side, this paved trail can become a bit precarious when having to pass other climbers.

IMG 0740

It was good to witness seemingly inactive folks giving it their best to see this natural beauty. I became the encourager on the way up & down to those sitting on rock outcrops talking about giving up & going back down.

IMG 0742

Being part mountain goat, according to DH, I crossed the falls & climbed down the other side to get a different view. DH followed across but waited up top. That’s his red shirt in the photo. I could have climbed down to the stream bed but didn’t feel I could get a better shot than what I had.

IMG 0741

The walk down went faster even with a couple of stops to answer questions about my “feet” – my Vibram FiveFingers. I can’t believe I forgot to photograph my “feet” on this trip!
This is one of the only clear vistas from the trail. Gorgeous, huh?

IMG 0744

I have only 1 complaint about this walk: There is a sign at the trailhead stating “No Pets Allowed.” On our way down there was an young Asian couple with their Cavalier King Charles Spaniel on a leash (at least it was on a leash) walking up to the Falls. If there had been a Park Ranger present, they would have been fined, but there aren’t enough Rangers to be everywhere at once. Please observe rules as posted for the safety & convenience of all park visitors.

One Comment
  1. September 28, 2012 8:16 pm

    Your pictures definitely made me miss the great outdoors. The last time I trekked was three years ago and I miss it so bad. Great photos, by the way. Cheers!

Comments are closed.

