Skip to content

Biting Midges & Natural Insect Repellant

October 30, 2012

Merry

DH & I rode bicycles through the Ding Darling Reserve early one morning, enjoying the cool of the day & hoping to catch wildlife breakfasting. Instead, I was breakfast for biting midges! I felt very much like Meriadoc Brandybuck who said, “What do they eat when they can’t get Hobbit?”

Ding

At home I keep a jar of homemade insect repellant mixed & slather it on when we are spending time working in the yard or at a wine fire next door. It didn’t occur to me to pack my peppermint oil to mix with coconut oil for protection on vacation.

Legs

Well, I’m paying the price for my lack of planning. Bites on both legs, both arms with a few for good measure on my neck. I seem to be reacting poorly to the bites – after 3 days they are larger, redder & itchier! I even broke down & took Benadryl to keep from scratching the pustules! Ugh!

Homemade Natural Insect Repellant

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil, softened
  • 10 drops Peppermint Oil (Essential Oil of Peppermint)

Instructions:

  1. Stir ingredients together in a small jar with a screw-on lid.

To Use:
Apply to exposed skin.

Comments are closed.

