Skip to content

Writing Daily “The Artist’s Way”

November 15, 2012

“I’m late! I’m late! For a very important date. No time to say “Hello, Goodbye”. I’m late, I’m late, I’m late.”

Like the White Rabbit from Alice In Wonderland, I feel as though I’m working from behind! I can’t seem to get caught up & it’s not even the holidays yet!

I brought up my email this morning & saw lots of comments & “likes,” then searched for today’s Post – there wasn’t one! What? Again? I had meant to sit down to write over the weekend, yesterday…but one thing or another distracts me or demands my attention (ever heard of the tyranny of the urgent rather than the important?) & my writing has been put on the back burner.

Artist s Way

I started writing almost 2 years ago when my father’s health had taken a turn for the worse. It was therapy. I could write & photograph & escape the day to day reality of his failing health & other accompanying issues. I could work out questions I had in print – obviously I didn’t publish these… What I started doing was hand writing in a journal. I bought a journal that had good paper & used my cartridge pen. I would sit down & write three pages every day as instructed by Julia Cameron in The Artist’s Way. Yesterday while clearing a pile of paper off the dining room table, I came across one of my very early scribblings. Wow, there was a lot of pain flowing from my body through the pen & onto the paper!

This past six months or so I have struggled with the desire to write. Does my writing serve a purpose? Do I have something of value to share? Am I trying to escape life by entering another world – my own private world of the story I want to tell? Am I making an excuse, a reason not to do the boring, never-ending housework? Question after question after question…

DH occasionally asks when I’m going to finish my bestseller so he can retire. His playful teasing is meant to be an encouragement, I know, but my twisted inner critic takes it as a challenge, an affront, an accusation of failure. #1 son asked how my book was coming & when I admitted that I hadn’t even looked at it for months he asked why. I had no answer. Oh, I had excuses, but no answer.

I think it’s time to reread The Artist’s Way. To exorcise those literary demons. To find me & to become comfortable with me as author.

“Reminding one another of the dream that each of us aspires to may be enough for us to set each other free.” Antoine De Saint-Exupery
This quote made me cry…

Comments are closed.

