Skip to content

January: Thyroid Awareness Month

January 2, 2013

January has been named Thyroid Awareness Month!

Thyroid banner

This matters to me as never before because I no longer have a thyroid gland in my neck. That is huge considering that thyroid hormone is required by the human body for life. LIFE! Without thyroid hormone the human body cannot survive.

As I mentioned yesterday, my first Post of 2013, I had a total thyroidectomy in December. I want to tell you why this was done, what happened – so what to expect if you must have thyroid surgery & what you should do to keep your thyroid healthy.

Tomorrow is my post-op visit with my Thyroid Surgeon. I have an appointment with my Endocrinologist later in the month.

There were things I was told to expect – no surprises so far. However, there were some things I was told nothing about, so I want to share them with you in the event you have this surgery. (My wonderful & gifted chiropractor has asked me to write my specifics for her to share with other patients since thyroid issues & thyroidectomies are becoming more common.)

Before I begin the series of Posts I must say how blessed I am to have the best medical care in the world. The Lord God does not make mistakes & He orchestrated my situation for such a time as this. I hope you gain information that is helpful & will keep you in the best health possible.

One Comment
  1. January 2, 2013 7:23 am

    Good luck with your visit! It’s so important to have regular visits and get checked. You never know until you get checked by a doctor, and it’s better to do it sooner than later. I’d love to hear about your experience. Please post the link where we can read about it.
    Have a great and healthy year!

    -April w/AMDS

Comments are closed.

