Skip to content

Valentine’s Day & Marinated Steaks

February 14, 2013

For so many years, DH & I had romantic dinners for 5 on Valentine’s Day. He was in private medical practice alone, so he was always on call, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We had 3 little boys & finding a babysitter was always a problem since we lived out on the edge of town. No worries, we had a candlelit dinner at home using our china & crystal & we had a lovely time.

3 boys

About 4 years ago, DH announced at breakfast that he was going to take me out for Valentine’s Day dinner at a local restaurant that night. I asked if he had already made reservations. Nope, didn’t know he needed to. “Well then, dear, we’ll be eating at home tonight.” “You’re kidding! You mean I can’t just call them up today & make reservations?” “You can call, but I can just about guarantee that their won’t be any available.”

He called our favorite restaurant – no reservations available. So he called a couple more places in the same price range. No. He moved up in price range – still no reservations available.

He came home to a candlelit dinner of grilled New York strip steaks, steamed broccoli & a lovely Cabernet. I even made Molten Chocolate Cake for dessert. I’m a good Valentine!

Heart

What I have discovered in the years since is that I prefer to eat at home on Valentine’s Day. Restaurants are crowded, prices are high & I prefer an excellent grilled beef tenderloin & fine red wine that I can enjoy on my own beautiful china.

Marinated Steaks

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup bottled Steak Sauce, use your favorite
  • 1/4 cup Bourbon Whiskey, again, use your favorite
  • 1 Tablespoon Honey
  • 2 teaspoons Whole-grain Mustard
  • 1 garlic clove, mashed
  • 4 beef rib or strip steaks (10 ounces each)

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients, except steaks, in a zip-lock plastic storage bag; mix well.
  2. Add steaks; seal & refrigerate for 2 hours, or overnight.
  3. Preheat the grill to medium−high heat.
  4. Grill steaks for 12 to 15 minutes, or until desired doneness, turning them over halfway through the grilling.
2 Comments
  1. Pamalama permalink
    February 14, 2013 1:41 pm

    Sweet, sweet pic of sword-bearing hellions!

    • February 14, 2013 8:00 pm

      Sword-bearing – yep! Hellions – double yep! But they were a blast!

Comments are closed.

