Skip to content

So Many Books, So Little Time!

February 26, 2013

I could stand it no longer! Which is what usually spurs me into action regarding anything involving housekeeping.

IMG 0011
(My stack of To-Read books)

The bookshelves were full & more books were stacked in front of the books. Sons have added to the stacks with their comings & goings, graduating from colleges & grad schools, moving out on their own. I add to that because I have a difficult time saying “No” when I see a classic title in hardback at a carport sale or at the Good Will Store. Then friends who know my affinity for books give me gifts, my MIL gives books…on & on.

IMG 0010
(I really should have taken a photo before I began – it was awful!)

The boys (grown sons!) also have a love for reading which started very early in life…I read aloud to them before they were born…

IMG 0015
(That’s a photo of #2 son a long time ago. The book in front – he’s the anchor of the tug-of-war on the cover! I do love my old piggy bank!)

…& DH’s parents would take them to bookstores & libraries regularly.

IMG 0013
(#1 son’s bookshelf that has yet to be moved to NYCity.)

But I finally reached overload! There were so many books I couldn’t keep them dusted & there are books I haven’t read! Horror! How am I supposed to know if I want to invest the space & upkeep on a book if I haven’t read it?

IMG 0014
(#2 son’s bookshelf – what’s left when he moved his most prized tomes to his apartment.)

Time to de-clutter the books shelves. Cull unwanted books – sell them on Amazon or donate them to charity. Box up books that I want to keep for the future but don’t want to display presently. Clean & arrange the remaining books on the bookshelves.

IMG 0140

Sorting takes an inordinate amount of emotional energy for me. What to keep. What to sell. Why is this book special. Where to start. But somehow I begin.

IMG 0141

Move books from one shelf to another, stack books in the floor, load up boxes… I always use boxes that held liquor for a reason. Liquid spirits are heavy & a box that holds it is sturdy. Books are heavy & but placed one by one, they are not heavy…until the box is loaded. So I load boxes that are of manageable size & will hold just enough weight that I can lift them myself.

IMG 0016

Seven boxes later, a double stack of books to offer on Amazon, a ton of dust & two full days of work the job is finished! Business. Science Fiction. Red Wall. Biographies. World War 2. Christmas. Civil War. Fiction including Robert Ludlum & Hebert Wouk. Reference Books. Theology. C.S. Lewis. J. R. R. Tolkien. American History. Birds. Current Health & Gardening. Miss Manners. Emily Post. & everything in between!

I love this picture I have next to the bookshelves & the Scripture verse quoted on it:

Ecclesiastes 12: 12-13
And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh.
Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep His commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.

IMG 0017

Now to de-clutter the attic so I will have a place to put my seven boxes of books.

One Comment
  1. February 26, 2013 10:10 am

    oh my goodness this is me too! we have books everywhere. I declutter every so often when I can take it no longer. In hunting for a book my daughter in law wanted this week, I discovered about 5 or 6 books I forgot I bought. I have a terrible time getting rid of them unless I did not like it when read.

Comments are closed.

