Skip to content

Meditation & Shrimp Creole

March 5, 2013

IMG 0031
Snowy March Saturday photos after most of the snow had melted.

Meditation is in the news of late & everyone is talking about the benefits of meditation as though this is something new.

IMG 0022

Over & over the Bible tells us to meditate upon the Lord’s Word. Here are some quick example verses from Psalms:

IMG 0024

Psalms 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.

Psalms 49:3 My mouth will speak wisdom, and the meditation of my heart will be understanding.

Psalms 104:34 Let my meditation be pleasing to Him; As for me, I shall be glad in the LORD.

Psalms 119:97 O how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day.
New American Standard Bible

IMG 0027

Make some time, undisturbed time: no telephone, no television, no one knocking on the door, etc. to sit quietly & meditate…

IMG 0028
I am so tired of gray days! Come on, Springtime & sunshine!

Shrimp Creole

This is an old stand-by family favorite. Leftovers can be used to make an omelet for breakfast the next morning, so I’m told, but we never have any leftover.
I make this dairy-free, using coconut oil, & wheat-free, using arrowroot or coconut flour.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Green Bell Pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup Red Bell Pepper, chopped
  • 1 Jalapeño Pepper, chopped
  • 2 Scallions, both white & green parts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup unsalted Butter or Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 cup Arrowroot, Coconut Flour or All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper
  • 15-ounce can Fire-Roasted Tomatoes
  • 15-ounce can Tomato Sauce
  • 2 pounds raw Shrimp, 21-25 per-pound size, peeled & deveined
  • 10 ounce box frozen Green Peas

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. In a large iron skillet, sauté peppers & scallions in butter/oil.
  3. Stir in arrowroot/flour, seasonings, tomatoes & tomato sauce.
  4. Bring to boil & stir until thickens.
  5. Spread shrimp around the skillet over the sauce.
  6. Sprinkle peas evenly over the top of all.
  7. Place in the oven for 20 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven & stir to cover shrimp & peas with sauce.

Serve over rice or scrambled eggs.

Comments are closed.

