Skip to content

Adrenal Exhaustion

March 7, 2013

Disease does not occur unexpectedly, it is the result of constant violation of Nature’s laws. … Hippocrates

Banner

Michele, my incredibly gifted & wonderful chiropractor counseled me for years to change my diet, that my adrenals were exhausted. I smiled, nodded & went my merry way baking cakes, pies, cookies, bread. I ate good whole grains with lots of sugar on the side. Actually, come to think about it, I think sugar & carbohydrates were the main part of my meal with a bit of protein, vegetables & supplements on the side…

When I finally came to the decision that I could change my diet now or wait until I had a heart attack, stroke, developed cancer or Type 2 Diabetes my body, my adrenals reacted positively immediately! I had energy. I didn’t stress out over every little thing. My need for supplements dropped dramatically.

Logo

Two years later I made the decision to lose my excess weight. It took an entire year, a lot of commitment & DH’s constant encouragement, not to mention my electronic kitchen scale & a new bathroom scale! I have kept the weight off for over a year now, though I am struggling with post-total thyroidectomy, hypothyroid weight gain… My internist has moved me to Nature-Throid, a natural, desiccated thyroid hormone replacement & I felt improvement mentally within 2 days. Can’t wait to see the results show up on the bathroom scale!

Cropped banner

Coconutoil.com posted an article that reminded me of the battle I fought with myself over sweets & I thought you might find it of interest: It’s Not Me: It’s My Adrenals!

Excerpt from It’s Not Me: It’s My Adrenals!
I like to start with nutrition, Whole Foods Nutrition. And boundaries.

Folks with high cortisol tend to crave carbohydrates, the refined type. Sugar, chocolate, pastries, any flour-sugar combination, really.

We must change that. Pronto.

Listen to your body. The good Lord fearfully & wonderfully made our body’s & they will let us know when to eat, to sleep, to run, to rest if we will just listen! Stop ignoring health issues, medicating them yourself, treating the symptom rather than the cause. Get to the bottom of why you have acid reflux, why you’re not sleeping, why your feet hurt, why you have seasonal allergies… Read, research, ask questions & think outside the box! Your solution can be as easy/not-so-easy as a change in diet, in behavior & it’s up to you to find it! You are responsible for your health!

I made the choice! I made the change & I do not regret it! In fact, I’ll never, never go back!

2 Comments
  1. lcbishop permalink
    March 7, 2013 8:10 am

    read this morning that we should also be giving our dogs, especially older ones, 1/4 t. coconut oil 2 times a day for each 10 pounds. for my lab that is 2 1/4 twice a day. that seems a lot. I need to check this out.
    He is 13 years old and in pretty good shape except for hearing. we have to talk loud to him…just like us. 🙂

    • March 7, 2013 9:48 am

      Every evening when I sit down to remove my make-up, my Lucy sits down and waits for her taste of the coconut oil I am using. It’s so very good for us, why not for them! She loves it! She demands it!

Comments are closed.

